Stephen Shurtz, with the city of Baton Rouge and an adjunct professor at Louisiana State University, has been named by the American Society of Landscape Architects to the ASLA Council of Fellows.

He received the honor for his volunteer service as a proponent of landscape architecture and urban forestry, and for his drive to create a statewide continuing education requirement that has strengthened the profession in Louisiana.


Regina L. Valenti, senior trial paralegal at Herman, Herman & Katz LLC in New Orleans, has been named the recipient of the 2014 Advocate Capital Inc./American Association for Justice Paralegal of the Year Award.

The award is based on an individual’s demonstrated value as a member of a legal services team and dedication to the legal profession and to the AAJ’s mission. Valenti was cited as an advocate for the paralegal profession and being instrumental in starting the paralegal internship program in her firm.

The NOLA chapter of the International Association of Administrative Professionals has earned its sixth consecutive Chapter of Excellence award for the 2013-14 year and chapter president Ann Ravichandran earned the Texas-Louisiana Division’s President Award for 2013-14.

Member of Excellence awards went to Ravichandran; Betty Ann Dunn; Cassandra N. Jackson; Catherine S. Glavina; Desiree Dubroc Miller; Ginger L. Gravois; Jane P. Elbaum; and Judith F. Larmeu.