The Louisiana Bar Foundation is honoring John W. Greene, retired from the 22nd Judicial District Court in Covington, as 2014 Distinguished Jurist; posthumously Allen L. Smith Jr., of Plauche, Smith & Nieset LLC in Lake Charles, as 2014 Distinguished Attorney; Gail S. Stephenson, of the Southern University Law Center in Baton Rouge, as 2014 Distinguished Professor; and Marta-Ann Schnabel, of O’Bryon & Schnabel PLC in New Orleans, with the 2014 Calogero Justice Award.

The foundation recognizes those who, through their professional activities, have distinguished themselves in their profession and brought credit and honor to the legal profession. The Calogero Justice Award goes to an individual or organization for a significant contribution to the Louisiana justice system.


Kenneth Perret, president of the Louisiana Good Roads and Transportation Association, has been presented the Charles M. Kerr Award from the Louisiana Engineering Society for outstanding public relations in promoting the engineering profession.

Perret was honored for his advocacy of the engineering profession as president of Good Roads and as a member of the Capital Area Transit System board of commissioners.

Darrin Goss Sr., president and chief executive officer of Capital Area United Way, has been selected for the United Way Worldwide Executive Leadership Development Program at Deloitte University and the Harvard Business School.

The program helps enhance participants impact in local communities, the organization and the United Way network.