Hugh W. Raetzsch Jr., president of Lyons Specialty Co. / AA Vending in Port Allen, was elected chairman of the American Wholesale Marketers Association for 2013. AWMA is the national association for wholesale distributors which specialize in supplying convenience stores throughout the United States.

Dr. Rodney Wise has been named medical director at Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Louisiana. He was medical director at Louisiana Medicaid.

Becky Shelton has been named sales manager in the Baton Rouge office of Gardner Realtors. She was a sales associate.

Rudolph A. Simoneaux III has been elected president of the Baton Rouge branch of the American Society of Civil Engineers.

Other officers are Russell J. Coco Jr., president-elect; Kirk Lowery, vice president; and Danielle Welborn, secretary/treasurer. Directors are Jennifer R. Shortess and Samuel Amoroso. Justin Schexnayder is younger member chairman.

Brad Ewing, of Lincoln Financial Group, has been elected chairman of the board of Prevent Child Abuse Louisiana.

Other officers are Edmund Redd, of Vulcan Materials Co., immediate past chairman; Lana Crump, of Kean Miller, secretary; and Karen Fournet, of Louisiana Lottery, treasurer. Directors are Jennifer Artigue, of Episcopal High School; Kris Cangelosi, of Cangelosi Dance Project; and Stacey Sandlin Moore, Woman’s Hospital.

Zachery Jiwa has been named an innovation fellow with the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, working with the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, state Medicaid programs and Medicaid IT vendors. Jiwa was chief technology officer with the Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals.

Retired USAF Col. Len Vernamonti, vice president of federal programs for Cajun Constructors Inc., has been re-elected treasurer of the Air Force Association, a nonprofit, civilian education organization promoting public understanding of aerospace power and its security role.

Kevin C. Curry, a partner in the estate planning, probate and trust section of Kean Miller LLP, has been appointed chairman of the trust code committee of the Louisiana State Law Institute.

Franee Scallan has been named corporate controller at Guaranty Corp. and Deana Stevens as manager, investments, at Guaranty Income Life Insurance Corp. Scallan was an account manager. Stevens was investment department assistant.


R. Keith Colvin, special counsel with the law firm of Jones, Walker, Waechter, Poitevent, Carrère & Denègre LLP, was elected president of the American College of Mortgage Attorneys.

Lisa Blossman has been named by the Dolan Co. as publisher of the New Orleans Publishing Group, which includes New Orleans CityBusiness and the Daily Journal of Commerce. She was senior vice president and associate publisher.


Christopher S. Shackelton, co-founder and managing partner of Coliseum Capital Management LLC, in Stamford, Conn., has been elected to the board of directors of LHC Group Inc. in Lafayette. Shackelton will serve on the board’s audit and corporate development committees.

Lance Crappell, of Youngsville, a partner with Wright, Moore, Dehart, Dupuis & Hutchinson LLC, has been elected president of the Acadiana chapter of the Society of Louisiana CPAs.

Other officers are Jeremy Meaux, of Youngsville, a partner with Darnall, Sikes, Gardes and Frederick, president-elect; Cassidy Albarado, of Crencro, a partner with Singleton, Kellner, Bolding, Avant and Albarado LLC, secretary; and Sarah Bolding, of Lafayette, a partner with Singleton, Kellner, Bolding, Avant and Albarado LLC, treasurer.

Other board members are Jade Moreau, of Carencro, with LHC Group Inc.; Damian Spiess, of Lafayette, with Wright, Moore, Dehart, Dupuis & Hutchinson LLC; and Jennifer Zerangue, of Carencro, with Postlethwaite and Netterville.

Mark Herpin, of Lafayette, senior vice president and financial planning manager with IberiaBank, is immediate past president.


Gov. Bobby Jindal announced appointments to the D.A.R.E. Advisory Board. They are Wes Watts, of Baton Rouge, the principal at Zachary High School, and Darren Powell, of the Mandeville Police Department.