Katie Pritchett, vice president of community impact at Capital Area United Way, has been selected for the United Way Worldwide Advanced Leaders Program.

The 10-month program is designed to build United Way senior leaders as future CEOs.

Andy Bush, a financial adviser and partner at Horizon Wealth Management, has earned the designation of Professional Plan Consultant in the area of retirement plan consulting from Financial Service Standards, a division of fi360 Inc. in Pittsburgh .

The designation is based on training, an examination, signing off on the FSS Code of Ethics and committing to ongoing training.

LSU AgCenter plant pathologist Raymond Schneider received the American Phytopathological Society’s Southern Division Outstanding Plant Pathologist Award.

The award is given to a member for outstanding contributions to plant pathology. Schneider has been involved in disease management strategies for soybeans for much of his 40-year career. He was the first person in North America to find Asian soybean rust in 2004.

Schneider also was recognized for his work in pathogen physiology and genetics as well as new strategies in cultural, chemical and biological control of diseases.

LSU AgCenter economist Mike Salassi received the American Sugar Cane League President’s Award.

The award is given to individuals for their outstanding contributions and service to Louisiana’s sugar cane industry.

Salassi was noted for his work with the industry through research and extension activities and by providing analysis of the sugar market.


Michael J. Bell, of Bell Architecture, has been named to the College of Fellows of the American Institute of Architects.

Fellowship is awarded to members who have made significant contributions to the profession.

The Jefferson Chamber has named Brian Greffenius, of Sandler Sales Training, as Ambassador of the Year; Millie Baudier, of Cox Communications, as Board Member of the Year, and presented Patricia Besselman-Main, of Besselman & Associates, its Chairman’s Award; Atmos Energy, the President’s Award; and Lynne Burkart, of Postlethwaite & Netterville, the Team-Builder Award.

The Ambassador Award recognizes a member’s outstanding commitment to welcoming and mentoring new members of the chamber. The Chairman’s Award honors a member who assists the chamber in being an effective and relevant business organization. The President’s Award recognizes an organization that has committed time, money and talent to the chamber. The Team-Builder Award recognizes a member who helps the chamber be visible and engaged in the community.


The Louisiana Travel Promotional Association announced the inaugural class of the Louisiana Tourism Leadership Academy. The program is designed to develop participants’ leadership skills and strengthen their communication networks.

Class members from the local area are Dena Aicklen, Boomtown Belle; Jo Banner, River Parishes Tourist Commission; Ben Berthelot, Lafayette CVC; Lisa Bowles, St. Landry Parish Tourist Commission; Kimmie Carlos, River Parishes Tourist Commission; Jeremy Cooker, New Orleans Tourism Marketing Corp.; Janice Delerno, The Stockade Bed & Breakfast; Courtney Hunt, Visit Baton Rouge; Nikki Jackson, Intercontinental New Orleans; Tanya Leader, St. Tammany Parish TCC; Melanie Lebouef, city of Opelousas; Jessica Ragusa, Plaquemines Parish government; and Jonathan “J.T.” Taylor, Livingston Parish CVB.