Patricia Wilton, deputy director in the civil division of the Louisiana Attorney General’s Office, is among six people selected for the National Association of Attorneys General’s Supreme Court Fellows program. The Fellows program gives deputy and assistant attorneys general exposure to the practices of the U.S. Supreme Court.

Agriculture and Forestry Commissioner Mike Strain has received the 2012 Ralph C. Cooper Veterinarian of the Year Award from the Louisiana Veterinary Medical Association. The award is given annually to the person who is recognized by his or her colleagues as having given the most of themselves in time, energy and ideas to the veterinary profession in the state of Louisiana.

Thomas Tully has been presented the 2013 Distinguished Alumnus Award by the LSU School of Veterinary Medicine. Tully, a 1986 graduate, is professor of veterinary clinical sciences at the LSU School of Veterinary Medicine. The vet school said Tully has developed one of the foremost programs in exotic animal and wildlife veterinary medicine in the country. Tully has published seven textbooks as editor and authored or co-authored over 50 book chapters, more than 100 refereed publications and over 225 proceedings. He also was recognized as a student mentor and ambassador for the vet school.

The Louisiana chapter of the American Board of Trial Advocates received Chapter of the Year honors from the national organization. The award is given to the chapter that exhibits exemplary activity and hard work that furthers the goals of organization.

Diesel Specialists has been named a 2013 Exporter of the Year award winner by ThinkGlobal Inc., publisher of the U.S. Department of Commerce’s Commercial News USA export promotion magazine and manager of the USA Export Expo.

Diesel Specialists received its award in the automotive/aviation/marine category. Diesel Specialists will be profiled in the May/June 2013 issue of Commercial News USA.


Dr. Carlos Rodriguez-Fierro, of Metairie, and Dr. Mrya A. Kleinpeter, of New Orleans, were presented the Louisiana State Medical Society’s Physician Award for Community Service.

The award recognizes a member who is actively involved in community and civic activities above and beyond their responsibilities in the practice of medicine.

Rodriguez-Fierro participates on the Board of Hearts of the Americans, an organization that promotes cardiovascular medicine in underserved areas of Latin America. In 2005 on a visit to Nicaragua, he traveled with a group that performed that country’s first bypass surgery. He also founded Doctors to the Rescue.

Kleinpeter serves as the director of the Peritoneal Dialysis Program for Tulane/Dialysis Clinics Inc., and is director of the Tulane Nephrology Clinic at the Medical Center of Louisiana. She serves as a commissioner for Hospital District A in Orleans Parish. Kleinpeter conducts research on chronic disease management, outcome, assessment, modifying patient education programs to improve health outcomes and providing heath care to underserved populations.


The Pelican Chapter of Associated Builders and Contractors announced the winners of its Excellence in Construction competition.

Awards of Excellence Award winners are Barriere Construction for the General DeGaulle Crossings Project and the Paving of NOLA Motorsports; Excel Contractors for the St. Thomas Emergency Water Project and Valero HCU Off-Module Piping Project; ISC for ExxonMobil Chemical Co.’s Olefins 2011 Integrated Event Project and Motive Port Arthur–Advantage Fire Detection Systems Project; James Construction Group for the La. 1 Improvements, Phase 1A Bridge Construction; The Lemoine Co. LLC for Acadiana Center for the Arts Phase 2, Lafayette General Medical Center Tower Renovations, Lafayette General Surgical Hospital Addition and Renovations, Our Lady of Lourdes–Landmark Medical Office Building and LSU Business Education Complex; MAPP Construction LLC for the Preservation of Tiger Stadium North End Zone Façade, Lighting and Fencing and Baton Rouge Magnet High School; Moore Construction Inc. for the Placid Refining Co. Control Room Blast Mitigation Project; Performance Contractors Inc. for the Multi–Unit Hydrogen Facilities; Triad Electric and Controls Inc. for Oxy Cryogenics Gas Project; Turner Industries Group for Total Petrochemicals Expansion Project; Westgate LLC for Bradken, Amite Foundry Production Facility Expansion.

Awards of Merit Award winners are Cajun Industries for Diamond Green Diesel Project Phase 1 and Diamond Green Diesel Piling; Group Contractors for North Boulevard Town Square Phase 1 and Shredder Facility Dock for EMR?Southern Recycling; The Lemoine Co. for University of Phoenix; Performance Contractors Inc. for Pandora Ammonia/Methanol Turnaround; The Shaw Group Inc. for Inner Harbor Navigation Canal Lake Borgne Surge Barrier Project; and Triad Electric and Controls Inc. for Georgia Pacific Power Distribution Feeder Design & Build Project.

Louey Awards were presented at the Lt. Governor’s Annual Tourism Summit to several recipients from the local area for their contributions to the state’s tourism industry.

  • Cajun Coast Visitors and Convention Bureau in St. Mary Parish in the category of convention and visitors bureau of the year, budget of $250,000-$749,999.
  • Le Village Guesthouse in Eunice, accommodation of the year.
  • Drago’s Seafood Restaurant of New Orleans, restaurateur of the year.
  • State Rep. and Speaker Pro-Tempore Walter Leger, of District 91 in Orleans Parish, governmental friend of tourism.