Terry LeBlanc has joined Assurance Financial Group as the Baton Rouge mortgage bank’s national sales manager for its 11 branches throughout Louisiana and the southeast U.S.

LeBlanc was with BancorpSouth as vice president/Louisiana area manager for mortgage lending.

Laura C. Poché, an estate planning and administration lawyer, has joined Rabalais Law as vice president of client development in the Baton Rouge area. Poché was vice president, private bank, for JP Morgan Chase & Co. Inc.


Ann Barks, owner of Ann Barks Public Relations in Slidell, has been elected to a three-year term on the executive committee of the Public Relations Society of America Counselors Academy.

Counselors Academy is a 400-member national professional interest section of PRSA that facilitates peer-to-peer exchanges between senior-level public relations agency executives regarding agency management.

Alan G. Brackett has been elected to the board of directors of the North-American Interfraternity Conference, the international trade association representing 74 national and international men’s fraternities.

Brackett is the managing member of Mouledoux, Bland, Legrand & Brackett LLC in New Orleans. Brackett joined Delta Tau Delta at Tulane University, and his involvement in the fraternity has been consistent since graduation.


Robyn Merrick, of Baton Rouge, has been elected chairwoman of the Girl Scouts Louisiana East’s board of directors, serving 23 parishes in southeast Louisiana.

Other officers are Joan Mollohan, of Kenner, first vice chairwoman; Veronica Osby, of New Orleans, second vice chairwoman; Julie LeBlanc, of New Orleans, secretary; and Kelly McKinney, of Baton Rouge, treasurer.

Members at large for a three-year term are Stephanie Osborne, of Gretna, and Kim Henry, Dr . Maurice Sholas and Betsy Stoner, all of New Orleans.

Continuing board members at large are Jacquelyn Daniels, Patricia Day, Kizzy Payton and Mary-Patricia Way, all of Baton Rouge; Angela Elly, of Ponchatoula; and Lyndia Jones and Kelder Summers-Jones, both of New Orleans,

Continuing members of the council board development committee are board members Kelder Summers-Jones, committee chairwoman, and Lyndia Jones.

Delegates to the Girl Scouts of the USA’s National Council Session are Jan Barbee, of Des Allemands; Courtney Dodson, Metairie; Nathalie Roy Mitchell, Baton Rouge; and Erin Williams, Madisonville. Alternates are Laura Rogan, of New Orleans; Missy Shanklin, Baton Rouge; Jennifer Verneuille, Livingston; and Nina Poche, Terrytown.

C. Wendell Manning, of Monroe, who serves on the 4th Judicial District Court for the parishes of Morehouse and Ouachita, was elected president of the Louisiana Bar Foundation.

Other officers are Vice President H. Minor Pipes III, of Barrasso Usdin Kupperman Freeman & Sarver LLC in New Orleans; treasurer E. Jane Sherman, a lawyer in Baton Rouge; and secretary Valerie Briggs Bargas, a lawyer with Kinchen, Walker, Bienvenu, Bargas & Reed LLC in Baton Rouge.

The nonprofit Louisiana Bar Foundation works to improve the system of justice by funding, developing or promoting efforts that enhance the legal profession and promote the legal system and equal justice under the law.

Gov. Bobby Jindal has made appointments to a state council and a board.

  • Louisiana State Arts Council: Gerri Hobdy, of Baton Rouge, executive director of community relations at Baton Rouge Community College; Mary D. Lee, Mandeville, chief operation officer of Lee Financial Partners LLC; Barbara Baker Motley, New Orleans, a writer for and former owner of Le Chat Noir; Sheela Plater, Thibodaux, who taught classical ballet and creative movement in New Orleans and helped establish Ballet Hysell and served as the first president of Ballet Hysell’s dance company; Chancelier Skidmore, Baton Rouge, executive director of Forward Arts Inc.; and Kirk Talbot, River Ridge, state representative for District 78-Jefferson Parish.
  • Louisiana Professional Engineering and Land Surveying Board: Alan Krouse, of Gonzales, senior engineer with Buchart Horn Inc.