Patty McMurray, a partner in Adams and Reese’s Baton Rouge office, has been elected to The Fellows of the American Bar Foundation in recognition of her dedication to the profession, service to society, commitment to the foundation’s work and ideals and the objectives of the American Bar Association.

Turner Industries received The Construction Users Roundtable’s CURT Annual Workforce Development Award and its Construction Industry Safety Excellence Award.

The workforce development award recognizes companies that excel in recruitment, training and education programs. The safety excellence award honors leaders in safety performance and innovation for the construction industry.

Turner Industries employs more than 18,000 people, with facilities in Port Allen, Sulphur and New Orleans; Houston, Beaumont, Corpus Christi and Paris, Texas; and Decatur, Ala.; and works throughout the United States and abroad.


The Construction Management Association of America presented Bill Lacher, vice president and southeastern regional manager for Vanir Construction Management Inc. in New Orleans, with a 2012 Distinguished Service Award and named the Gulf Coast Chapter in New Orleans as National Chapter of the Year in Population Division II. Lacher, who founded the chapter in 2011, was recognized for his outstanding long-term contributions to the profession and association.

The chapter was described as one of the organization’s most successful and engaged chapters.


Sharon Hornsby, dean of the Northshore Technical Community College Florida Parishes Campus in Greensburg, has been named a “Champion for Change” in juvenile justice reform efforts from the John. D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation’s Models for Change initiative.

Hornsby is the project director of the Louisiana Models for Change pilot program at the Northshore Technical Community College Florida Parishes Campus. She works in collaboration with the Louisiana Office of Juvenile Justice and the Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center Institute for Public Health and Justice to provide career development and job training enrollment opportunities for adjudicated youth.

Cardiovascular Institute of the South’s nuclear laboratories have been granted reaccreditation for three years by the Intersocietal Accreditation Commission, acknowledging its commitment to quality patient care and diagnostic testing.

To earn accreditation, CIS’s 10 nuclear laboratories in Houma, Raceland, Thibodaux, Morgan City, New Iberia, two in Lafayette, Opelousas, Zachary and Baton Rouge underwent rigorous examinations of operational and technical components by a panel of experts.

The Louisiana Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers presented the following awards to: John DiGiulio, of Baton Rouge, the Justice Albert Tate Jr. Award for his dedication, hard work and accomplishments in the criminal justice field; Jimmy Manasseh and The Manasseh Law Firm, of Baton Rouge, President’s Award of Appreciation for assisting the association over this past year; G. Paul Marx, of Lafayette, for outstanding work for criminal defense lawyers around the state; Rep. Jeff Arnold, of New Orleans, the Chief Justice Pascal F. Calogero Jr. Lifetime Achievement for his dedication to the betterment of the justice system and support through the Legislature; Gary Clements, of New Orleans, the Sam Dalton Capital Defense Advocacy Award for his dedication to capital defense and criminal justice advocacy in the state; Dwight Doskey, of New Orleans, the Criminal Justice Act Panel Award for his commitment and achievements in federal court; and The Innocence Project of New Orleans, the Trustees of Freedom Gideon Award for outstanding contributions to the right to counsel, including legislative work, and its concern for clients and criminal justice.