The new East Baton Rouge Parish Main Library at Goodwood earned a national award in Library Journal magazine’s 2015 New Landmark Libraries program. The building also has been recognized with the Members’ Choice Award from the Baton Rouge chapter of the American Institute of Architects and selected as Engineering News-Record magazine’s Best Government/Public Buildings Project and Project of the Year for the five-state region of Louisiana, Texas, Arkansas, Mississippi and Oklahoma.

The awards programs all recognize projects that demonstrate creativity, design excellence and innovation in problem-solving.

The three-story, 126,000-square-foot building was designed by the Library Design Collaborative, a joint venture of Dewberry, Cockfield Jackson Architects and Tipton Associates.

The Louisiana Office of Tourism received its first National Council of State Tourism Directors Mercury Award for marketing, given annually at the U.S. Travel Association’s Educational Seminar for Tourism Organizations.

The agency won for its print campaign celebrating Louisiana’s culinary scene.


The Bayou Vermilion Preservation Association recognized Ernest Girouard, of the LSU AgCenter, for his work as this year’s chairman of a symposium that focuses on the waterway that courses through St. Landry, Lafayette and Vermilion parishes.

Girouard, LSU AgCenter coordinator of the Louisiana Master Farmer Program, said work to improve the bayou’s water quality is the result of several organizations working together.

Andy Soileau, of Soileau’s Pharmacy in New Iberia, received the Pharmacist of the Year Award from the Louisiana Pharmacists Association.

The award recognizes a pharmacist who has given time for years to keep pharmacy in the front line of the health care arena. The organization said Soileau has helped “educate” several administrations of policy-makers on the importance of pharmacy and pharmacists, and has been instrumental in major governmental decisions that have been favorable to pharmacists in Louisiana.


MaryJo Roberts, an associate in Phelps Dunbar’s New Orleans office, received the Louisiana Association of Defense Counsel’s inaugural Frank L. Maraist Award.

The award recognizes young lawyers — younger than 39 or with six or less years of experience — who demonstrate professional excellence and service to the profession and the bar, who demonstrate a commitment to pro bono work and community service and who contribute to furthering the ideals of the legal profession.

Roberts is involved with many of the firm’s pro bono efforts and serves on the board of directors for InspireNOLA Charter Schools.

Dennis Fanguy, vice president of quality management systems at Bollinger Shipyards LLC in Lockport will be honored by the Society of Naval Architects & Marine Engineers with its 2015 William M. Kennedy Award.

The award is presented for outstanding service and contribution in the development of systems and planning applied to shipbuilding and ship repair.