Michele Barbato, assistant professor of the Department of Civil Environmental Engineering, was awarded the 2011 European Association for Structural Dynamics Junior Research Prize for his scientific visibility in structural reliability and earthquake engineering. The EASD research prizes are awarded once every three years to individual researchers in recognition of their outstanding and sustained contributions to structural dynamics.

A national Bronze Telly Award has been presented to Marc Goldstein, of Creative Video Productions, Nicole Colvin and Alzheimer’s Services of the Capital Area for their video, “I Will Remember You,” honoring all those who have suffered from Alzheimer’s Disease.

Cristina Sabliov, associate professor in the LSU AgCenter Department of Biological and Agriculture Engineering, has received the 2011 New Holland Young Researcher Award from the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers. The award recognizes the use of scientific methodology to seek out facts or principles significant to the agricultural engineering profession. It is given to an individual under the age of 40. Sabliov is the first woman to receive the award. Sabliov’s research uses nanotechnology to solve health and food issues. She also conducts research on microwave extraction to retrieve antioxidants from plant materials.

Charley G’s owner Charlie Goodson will be one of five honored as the 2011 Culinary Humanitarian award recipients from Louisiana Cookin magazine in New Orleans. Goodson will be honored at this year’s Louisiana Cookin’s 11th Annual Chefs to Watch dinner this month. The magazine honors those who’ve paved the way and set a good example for what is means to give back to community and support Louisiana’s culture. Also honored that evening are Robert G. Antoon, David Blitch, Dickie Brennan & Tommy Wong.