The LSU Law Center is honoring Edward J. Walters Jr. as the 2015 LSU Law Center Distinguished Alumnus of the Year and Jeffrey K. Coreil, Jennifer A. Jones, Edwin G. Preis Jr., Kimberly L. Robinson and Dean A. Sutherland for Distinguished Achievement.

Walters,1975, is a partner at Walters, Papillion, Thomas, Cullens LLC in Baton Rouge.

Coreil, 2009, is an associate at NeunerPate in Lafayette. Jones, 1981, is district attorney in Cameron Parish. Preis, 1972, is managing partner and founder of Preis PLC in Lafayette. Robinson, 1998, is a partner at Jones Walker LLP in Baton Rouge. Sutherland, 1975, is of counsel at Jeansonne & Remondet New Orleans. The Distinguished Alumnus award recognizes recipients for professional achievement and career distinction, service to and support of LSU Law and service to the community.

Walters has served the Louisiana legal community for more than 40 years. In 1990, he was selected for the LSU Law Center Hall of Fame. Since 1988, Walters has served as an adjunct professor at the LSU Law Center and has been a faculty member of the annual trial advocacy program.

Walters is a member of the LSU Law Center’s alumni board of trustees and chancellor’s council. He is a fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers, the International Academy of Trial Lawyers and the Louisiana Bar Foundation, which recognized him as its 2008 Distinguished Attorney. He served as president of the Baton Rouge Bar Association in 1993 and received its President’s Award in 1995 and 1998 and has served on many committees with the Louisiana State Bar Association.