The Louisiana Chemical Association presented Best in Louisiana SAFE Awards, recognizing safety practices and results of members, to The Dow Chemical Co.'s St. Charles Operations in the Class 4 over 400 employee category; a three-way tie to ExxonMobil Baton Rouge Plastics Plant and ExxonMobil Baton Rouge Polyolefins, both in East Baton Rouge Parish, and Grace in Calcasieu Parish in the Class 3 category of 201-400 employees; Nalco Champion, an Ecolab company in St. John Parish, in the Class 2 category of 101-200 employees; and Mexichem Fluor Inc. in Iberville Parish in the Class 1 category of 100 or fewer employees.

The Most Improved Award went to Rubicon LLC, Ascension Parish; Total Petrochemicals, Iberville Parish; Ingevity South Carolina LLC, Beauregard Parish; and Air Liquide, Geismar ASU, Ascension Parish.

The American Institute of Architects Louisiana Chapter presented design competition Honor Awards to Eskew+Dumez+Ripple for The Beacon in New Orleans, a seven-story building with 123 residential units and ground floor retail, and for the Teatro Santander, a 1,200-seat, multivenue performing arts theater in Sao Paulo; and to studioWTA of New Orleans for The Julian in New Orleans, a 54,000-square-foot, mixed-use building with 36 apartments and retail space.

New Orleans firms that received an Award of Merit are Eskew+Dumez+Ripple for the WWL-TV headquarters in New Orleans; studioWTA for The Pythian in New Orleans; Trahan Architects for College Station boutique hotel in Texas, Magnolia Mound Visitors Center in Baton Rouge and the Aurora Event Center in Aurora, New York; Trapolin-Peer Architects for 800 Magazine in New Orleans; Lee Ledbetter & Associates for the Joan Mitchell Center Artists’ Studio Building in New Orleans; and Waggonner & Ball Architects for Green Trees Early Childhood Village in New Orleans.

The Members Choice Award went to Holly + Smith Architects of Hammond for renovations and additions to The Moon at 631 Desire St. in New Orleans, a historic Quonset hut metal structure converted into a contemporary boutique hotel.

Tony and Katherine Gelderman of New Orleans received the Louisiana Architecture Foundation's Patron of Honor Award recognizing their commitment to historic preservation and restoration of several historically significant buildings in New Orleans and Baton Rouge.

State Rep. Reid Falconer, of Madisonville, was presented the Presidential Citation by the American Institute of Architects Louisiana recognizing his leadership, dedication and contributions to improving his community, the state and fellow association members. Falconer has championed the association's issues and historic tax credits, and he has served as a mentor for its annual Emerging Professionals Leadership Program.