The Ascension Parish School Board honored 2014-15 Teachers of the Year and Principals of the Year at its Oct. 20 meeting.

Awards were given to one teacher from each school plus one teacher and one principal in each division: primary school, middle school and high school.

Overall teacher winners were Danielle Delaune, of St. Amant High; Tachelle Herbert, of Central Middle; and Julie Smith, of Pecan Grove Primary.

“It is the people who make up our school district that make it successful,” Ascension Public Schools Superintendent Patrice Pujol said after handing out the awards.

“Kudos to each and every one who was awarded a certificate tonight. You should be proud because you were chosen from among a tremendous group of colleagues. You are the lifeblood of our school system, and you make a difference every single day,” Pujol said.

PRINCIPALS OF THE YEAR: Jaimee Williams, Gonzales Primary; Sandy Waguespack, Galvez Middle; and Mia Edwards, St. Amant High.

HIGH SCHOOL TEACHERS OF THE YEAR: Jim Nastasi, APPLe Digital Academy; Michelle Krieger, Donaldsonville High; Tamara Empson, Dutchtown High; Amanda Lambert, East Ascension High; and Danielle Delaune, St. Amant High.

MIDDLE SCHOOL TEACHERS OF THE YEAR: Tachelle Herbert, Central Middle; Glenda Mora, Dutchtown Middle; Vanessa Denham, Galvez Middle; Stephanie Harpole, Gonzales Middle; Melanie Williams, Lake Elementary; Jennifer Blanchard, Lowery Middle; Sandi Gautreau, Prairieville Middle; and Misty Lungaas, St. Amant Middle.

PRIMARY SCHOOL TEACHERS OF THE YEAR: Kandice Oubre, G.W. Carver Primary; Diana LaFargue, Central Primary; Yolande Joshua, Donaldsonville Primary; Jelice Chatman, Duplessis Primary; Annette Becnel, Dutchtown Primary; Ashley Whitcomb, Galvez Primary; Heidi Michiels, Gonzales Primary; Taran Henry, Lake Elementary; Susan Chmurka, Lakeside Primary; Jessica Miller, Lowery Elementary; Shannon Rodi, Oak Grove Primary; Julie Smith, Pecan Grove Primary; Lauren Chiasson, Prairieville Primary; Shea Woodring, Sorrento Primary; Katye Secrist, Spanish Lake Primary; and Brandi Lambert, St. Amant Primary.