Outstanding principals and teachers were honored by the Ascension Parish School Board on Tuesday for the 2014-2015 school year.

“People ask me all the time what makes our school district such a great one,” said Superintendent Patrice Pujol. “My answer is always the same: It is the people who work each and every day who set us apart.”

Named a Principal of the Year, in the categories of primary school, middle school and high school, were Jaimee Williams, Gonzales Primary; Sandra Waguespack, Galvez Middle; and Mia Edwards, St. Amant High School.

Named a Teacher of the Year were Julie Smith, Pecan Grove Primary; Tachelle Herbert, Central Middle; and Danielle Delaune, St. Amant High.

Family and friends were on hand with balloons and flowers at the School Board’s meeting this week, held at East Ascension High School, to honor the school winners and nominees.

In addition to the three named Teacher of the Year, those teachers nominated for the honor by their schools were:

Primary schools: Kandice Oubre, G.W. Carver Primary; Diana LaFargue, Central Primary; Yolande Joshua, Donaldsonville Primary; Jelice Chatman, Duplessis Primary; Annette Becnel, Dutchtown Primary; Ashley Whitcomb, Galvez Primary; Heidi Michiels, Gonzales Primary; Taran Henry, Lake Elementary; Susan Chmurka, Lakeside Primary; Jessica Miller, Lowery Elementary; Shannon Rodi, Oak Grove Primary; Lauren Chiasson, Prairieville Primary; Shea Woodring, Sorrento Primary; Katye Secrist, Spanish Lake Primary; and Brandi Lambert, St. Amant Primary.

Middle schools: Glenda Mora, Dutchtown Middle; Vanessa Denham, Galvez Middle; Stephanie Harpole, Gonzales Middle; Melanie Williams, Lake Elementary, which has kindergarten through eighth grade; Jennifer Blanchard, Lowery Middle; Sandi Gautreau, Prairieville Middle; and Misty Lyngaas, St. Amant Middle.

High schools: Jim Nastasi, APPLe Digital Academy; Michelle Krieger, Donaldsonville High; Tamara Empson, Dutchtown High; and Amanda Lambert, East Ascension High.

Also on Tuesday, the School Board recognized its Business Services department, headed by Diane Allison, after the school district was named a first-time winner of a national certificate of achievement in excellence in financial reporting.

The honor was given by the Government Finance Officers Association for the school district’s comprehensive annual financial report for the 2013-2014 fiscal year.

The association also awarded the school district, for the third year in a row, a Distinguished Budget Presentation Award, for its 2015-2016 annual operating plan, given by the same national association.

The awards were presented at the School Board meeting by Rep. Ed Price, D-Gonzales, a former Ascension Parish School Board president.