School Board honors support personnel _lowres

Photo provided by Johnnie Balfantz -- Shirell Oatis, library clerk at Donaldsonville High, and Adam Thompson, paraprofessional at Prairieville Middle, are honored at a recent Ascension Parish School Board meeting.

GONZALES School support staff, who play an important part in students’ lives from driving buses to helping in the classroom, were honored by the Ascension Parish School Board on May 20.

Every school in the district had an “Outstanding School Support Employee” award winner, and there were also three top winners in the primary, middle and high school categories.

Those three overall winners were Chad Young, facility manager, Galvez Primary; Adam Thompson, paraprofessional, Prairieville Middle; and Shirell Oatis, library clerk, Donaldsonville High.

Nominating letters for the three winners give a glimpse of the reasons behind their wins.

“Our facility is in the best shape it has been in for years,” Galvez Primary Principal Toni Hardy wrote of Young.

“Mr. Thompson’s spunk and charisma has allowed him to work within a diverse population to tackle any problem,” Prairieville Middle Principal Dina Davis said in her nomination letter.

And Donaldsonville High Assistant Principal Maria Babin wrote, “Ms. Shirell helps everyone that enters the library, no matter what their need.”

In addition to the three overall winners named above, the “Support Person of the Year” for each school is listed below:

Primary Schools: Alisha Massey, paraprofessional, G. W. Carver Primary; Eric Hunt, paraprofessional, Central Primary; Cindy Imbraguglio, bus driver, Donaldsonville Primary; Sandy Harry, custodian, Duplessis Primary; Tanya Glover, facility manager, Dutchtown Primary; Marlene Fuller, paraprofessional, Gonzales Primary; and Joy Babin, paraprofessional, Lake Elementary-Middle.

Also, Elizabeth Lee, paraprofessional, Lakeside Primary; Sheryl Landry, paraprofessional, Lowery Elementary; Ann Martin, secretary A, Oak Grove Primary; Sharon Quebedeaux, cafeteria manager, Pecan Grove Primary; Amy Savoy, secretary B, Prairieville Primary; Terri Buquoi, library clerk, Sorrento Primary; Frances Mitchell, paraprofessional, Spanish Lake Primary; Christy Hebert, paraprofessional, St. Amant Primary; and Wendy Paul, Head Start teacher, Head Start.

Middle Schools: Vandell Williams, facility manager, Central Middle; Christy Dixon, secretary A, Dutchtown Middle; Vickie Edmonston, paraprofessional, Galvez Middle; Ann Houston, paraprofessional, Gonzales Middle; LaKisha Daigle, paraprofessional, Lowery Middle; and Betty James, paraprofessional, St. Amant Middle.

High Schools: David Brown, custodian, APPLe Digital Academy; Alicia Songe, bus driver, Dutchtown High; Bonnie Simpson, secretary A, East Ascension High; and Sandra Trahan, secretary A, St. Amant High.