Five Ascension Parish high school seniors have been named recipients of an academic scholarship from the Louisiana Sheriffs’ Scholarship Program, Ascension Parish Sheriff Jeff Wiley said.

The recipients live in Ascension Parish and plan to attend colleges in the Louisiana.

The sheriffs’ scholarship is made possible by the Louisiana Sheriffs’ Honorary Membership Program, Wiley said.

Qualities such as academic achievement, leadership and character are considered in making selections of sheriffs’ scholarship recipients, Wiley said.

Scholarships will be awarded in 63 parishes throughout the state.

“Academic awards by the Louisiana Sheriffs’ Scholarship Program to Louisiana students demonstrate what the LSHMP is all about,” Wiley said. “This is one of our finest accomplishments that invests in Louisiana’s future and gives something back to our community. This would not be possible without the kind and generous support of Ascension Parish’s Honorary Members.”

Scholarships were awarded to:

  • Jordan Logarbo, Dutchtown High School,$1,500.
  • Jude Graham, Dutchtown High School, $500.
  • Joseph Bollich, East Ascension High School,$500.
  • Hunter Medine, Ascension Catholic High School, $250.
  • Patrice West, Donaldsonville High School, $250.