LSU University College inducted 234 freshmen into its chapter of Phi Eta Sigma during a ceremony on April 21 in the LSU Student Union’s Royal Cotillion Ballroom, according to a news release.

Founded in 1923, Phi Eta Sigma is the nation’s oldest and largest first-year honor society. Inductees must have a minimum 3.5 cumulative grade-point average to receive recognition and scholarships.

Ascension Parish residents inducted into the LSU Chapter of Phi Eta Sigma were Londyn Blumrich and Mason James St. Pierre, Gonzales; Kelsey Amie Howard, Samantha Ellen Marshall, John Patrick McGovern, Michelle Poole, Turner John Ogden Simmers, Jordan Paige Simmons and Dylan Michael Zeringue, Prairieville; and William Ward Belleu III, St. Amant.