LSU University College inducted 86 freshmen into its Phi Eta Sigma Chapter during a ceremony April 18 at the LSU Union Royal Cotillion Ballroom.

The Phi Eta Sigma national honor society rewards first-year collegiate students for scholastic achievement. LSU’s chapter has inducted more than 10,828 students since its inception in 1928.

Full-time freshmen with a minimum 3.5 GPA are eligible for induction into Phi Eta Sigma. Inductees receive national recognition, membership, and undergraduate and graduate scholarship opportunities of approximately $300,000, a news release said.

“It has been a pleasure for me to advise the LSU chapter of the nation’s oldest and largest honor society this past year,” said Allison Hargrave, faculty advisor of Phi Eta Sigma and academic counselor in the LSU Center for Freshman Year. “Our officers have been doing an amazing job bringing in new ideas and leadership into our chapter, and I look forward to new opportunities the future will bring to our organization.”

This year’s presiding officers are President Russell Wilder, of Knoxville, Tennessee; Vice President Gabrielle Stuart, of Walker; Secretary Kelly Cohen, of Metairie; and Historian Devin Barnes, of Baton Rouge.

Area inductees included:

PRAIRIEVILLE: Matthew Freeburgh, Madison Gaines and Sommer Seitz