Three students, in elementary, primary and high school grades, were recognized on Tuesday by the Ascension Parish School Board as the parish winners of a statewide contest.

Magnolia McCarty, a fifth-grader at St. Amant Primary, is the primary-school winner for Ascension Parish in the Louisiana School Boards Association art contest.

McCarty, whose favorite medium is graphite, also won third place on the state level.

The parish winner for the middle school level, Keondra Carter, is in the eighth grade at St. Amant Middle.

According to her biographical information, Carter believes “art is a way to express oneself without the use of words in seemingly endless ways.”

Lorelei Gaffney, a sophomore at St. Amant High School, is the parish winner for the high school level.

In the talented art program since the fourth grade, Gaffney is looking ahead to possible careers in law or engineering.

The School Board on Tuesday also honored outstanding school support employees nominated by each school in the district, as well as recognized an outstanding support employee for the primary, middle and high school grades.

All of the employees, said Human Resource Director Randy Watts, “go beyond the call of duty” every day in supporting the schools where they work.

Named outstanding school support employee for the primary school category is Richard Moss, custodian for the Ascension Parish Head Start program.

In the middle school category, the winner is Angela Holloway, custodian, Lake Elementary, and in the high school category, the winner is Bonnie Simpson, a school secretary at East Ascension High.

Also nominated at district primary schools were Tracy Bourgeois, G.W. Carver Primary; Melissa Ammerman, Central Primary; Tanya Mitchell, Donaldsonville Primary; Leslie Buratt, Duplessis Primary; Janellá Bell, Dutchtown Primary; Johnnie Winston, Galvez Primary; Loni Bowen, Gonzales Primary, and Jackie Addison, Lakeside Primary.

Also, Ashley Cooper, Lowery Elementary; Paula Mohler, Oak Grove Primary; Trenell Sims, Pecan Grove Primary; Julie Sancho, Prairieville Primary; Tammy Rhodes, Sorrento Primary; Jessica Brown, Spanish Lake Primary; and Eddie Lomas, St. Amant Primary.

Those also nominated in the middle school category were: Monica Jupiter, Central Middle; Stephanie Barnes, Dutchtown Middle; Brenda Johnson, Galvez Middle; Henriette Johnson, Gonzales Middle; Andriea Landry, Lowery Middle; Tony Williams, Prairieville Middle, and Mona Bercegeay, St. Amant Middle.

Those also nominated at the high school level were: April Burns, the APPLe Digital Academy; Calice Babin, Donaldsonville High; Julie Diez, Dutchtown High; Trent Thomas, St. Amant High, and Melynda Trosclair, Early College Options-River Parishes Community College.