The Ascension Parish School Board took some time out from its usual board business Tuesday to honor the school district’s teachers and principals of the year for 2015.

Named principals of the year are Christy Bourgeois, of St. Amant Middle; Edith Walker, of Dutchtown High; and Marjorie Meyers, of Pecan Grove Elementary.

Meyers went on to be named state elementary principal of the year this summer. Walker began a new role this summer as a district supervisor.

“We have fabulous leaders in this district, and these three recognized tonight represent the quality of leaders we have in all our schools,” Superintendent Patrice Pujol said.

Teachers of the year for 2015 are Elizabeth Templet, of Gonzales Primary, in the primary division; April Morales, of Lake Elementary, which offers kindergarten through eighth-grade classes, in the middle school division; and Mark Ebarb, of Dutchtown High, in the high school division.

Ebarb also was recognized as a state finalist for teacher of the year in the high school category.

“Everything we do is all about the classroom, to support that teacher in the classroom,” School Board President Troy Gautreau said. “We have some great teachers.”

The board also recognized those teachers nominated by their individual schools:

Primary schools: Elise Tureau, G.W. Carver Primary; Monique Speligene, Central Primary; Sandra Alfred, Donaldsonville Primary; Emily Lambert, Duplessis Primary; Monica Flood, Dutchtown Primary; Yvette McCay, Galvez Primary; Ashlie Dedon, Lake Elementary; Jessica Dugas, Lakeside Primary; Virgie Barbier, Lowery Elementary; Arlene Molliere, Oak Grove Primary; Tracie Rikhoff, Pecan Grove Primary; Shaneka Burnett, Prairieville Primary; Jamie Williams, Sorrento Primary; Dominique Bordelon, Spanish Lake Primary; and Melissa Wax, St. Amant Primary.

Middle schools: Stephanie Musso, Central Middle; Vicki Passman, Dutchtown Middle; Bridgette Thomas, Galvez Middle; Tracey Creel, Gonzales Middle; Joseph Brown, Lowery Middle; Jill Hughes, Prairieville Middle; and Chad Wilson, St. Amant Middle.

High schools: Betty Castille, APPLe Digital Academy; Jessica Duguay, Donaldsonville High; Monica Caillouet, East Ascension High; and Mark Lambert, St. Amant High.

Also on Tuesday, Reagan Cambre, an eighth-grader at Lake Elementary, was recognized for placing third in the national Junior Beta conference this summer in Richmond, Virginia, for a quilt she created using T-shirts worn by her fellow Junior Beta members last school year.