RideauFinalMtgZAC.063016.jpg _lowres

Photo provided by Kelly Drone -- Attending the Distict H meeting of the Louisiana Municipal Association in Baker on June 16, from left, are Lawrence Henagan, mayor of DeQuincy; Barney Arceneaux, mayor of Gonzales; Carroll Breaux, mayor of Springhill and LMA president; Harry Lewis, mayor of Rayville; Harold Rideau, mayor of Baker; and Ronnie Harris, LMA executive director.

During the Louisiana Municipal Association’s District H meeting in Baker on June 16, Mayor Harold Rideau was honored on the occasion of his final meeting.

His last day as Baker mayor is Thursday.

Municipal Association President Carroll Breaux and officers presented Rideau with a resolution and gift.

Grosse Tete Mayor Michael Chauffe was elected as the new district vice president and was nominated by St. Francisville Mayor Billy D’Aquilla.

District H incudes the parishes of Ascension, East Baton Rouge, East Feliciana, Iberville, Pointe Coupee, West Baton Rouge and West Feliciana.

The 2016-17 Municipal Association officers were approved at the District H meeting as well as at the District I meeting in Mandeville on June 22. They are Mayor Barney Arceneaux, of Gonzales, president; Mayor Lawrence Henagan, of DeQuincy, first vice president; and Mayor Harry Lewis, of Rayville, second vice president.