CLINTON — East Feliciana Parish police jurors began the third year of their terms Tuesday by re-electing Louis Kent as jury president on a 6-3 vote.

In the first of two votes, Sean Smith, Chris Hall and Ed Brooks supported Smith's bid to become jury president after having served two years as the vice president.

Louis Kent voted for himself in the second vote, with support from Keith Mills, Dwight Hill, Jason McCray, Michael Cheatham and Glen Kent.

Glen Kent nominated Mills to serve as vice president, and he was elected without dissent.

Louis Kent said before the meeting that he has served as jury president for "at least 10 years," although he and former Juror Dennis Aucoin swapped the gavel twice before Aucoin did not seek re-election in 2015.

Kent said he will name committee members at the jury's next regular meeting.

Jurors also gave Parish Manager Sonya Crowe additional duties, appointing her to serve as parish treasurer.

Julie Gardner has held the position for two years, but she told jurors Tuesday that her appointment last month to an accounting position will create a conflict if she continues as treasurer.

Jurors pointed out that two former parish managers, John Rouchon and Judith Kelly, also have served as treasurer.

On another matter, jurors approved a two-year contract with a Virginia firm, Westwood Pharmacy, to provide prescription drugs to the parish prison.

Warden Kenny Sanders said the parish will save 28 percent on the cost of prescription drugs immediately and will save even more because the firm will take back unused drugs prescribed to prisoners who are later released from custody.

The current vendor, an Alabama firm, cannot recover unused drugs in "blister packs" because that state prohibits the practice, the warden said.

Sanders also said Westwood will have an arrangement with a Zachary firm allowing jailers to pick up drugs for prisoners on weekends and holidays.