Southeastern Louisiana University honored five faculty and staff members with the President’s Awards for Excellence, the university’s highest honor for faculty and staff, at the university’s annual fall convocation on Aug. 15.

Receiving the awards were Samuel C. Hyde Jr., of Denham Springs, professor of history; Lorinda Sealey, of Baton Rouge, professor of nursing; Dale Newkirk, of Covington, professor of art; Debra Dolliver, of Hammond, professor of organic chemistry; and Connie Davis, of Hammond, director of Auxiliary Services, a news release from the university said.

Hyde, who holds the Leon Ford Chair for Regional Studies and is the director of the Center for Southeast Louisiana Studies, is the recipient of the President’s Award for Excellence in Research. He is the author of several historical texts, a specialist in the history and culture of southeast Louisiana, and the acknowledged expert on the Florida Parishes of Louisiana and the West Florida Republic. Hyde also was honored with a President’s Award in 2001.

A member of the Southeastern faculty since 1989, Sealy was honored with the President’s Award for Excellence in Teaching. When the university introduced its doctorate program in advance nursing practice two years ago, Sealy served as graduate coordinator and helped develop the curriculum and implement the program. In addition to teaching students through online courses in the master’s and doctoral programs, she also serves as a valuable mentor for new faculty members, the release said.

Newkirk is the recipient of the President’s Award for Excellence in Artistic Activity. A widely respected artist, especially in the areas of sculpture, drawing and photography, he has had more than 20 one-person exhibits in major museums in cities such as Los Angeles, San Francisco, Santa Fe, New Orleans and Chicago. In addition to teaching, he serves as the university’s director and curator of University Art Galleries, including the highly visible Contemporary Art Gallery.

Dolliver is the recipient of the President’s Award for Excellence in Faculty Service. She is also a second-time recipient, having been recognized several years ago with the Award for Excellence in Teaching. Dolliver has played a major role in writing grants that enabled the department to gain several important pieces of equipment essential for teaching and research, including a gas chromatography mass spectrometer and a National Science Foundation-funded nuclear magnetic resonance spectrometer. She also has played important roles in the department’s recruitment efforts and arranging for students to attend national and regional conferences.

The President’s Award for Excellence in Unclassified Staff Service was given to Connie Davis. A double graduate of Southeastern, Davis participates in many community activities. She is a founding board member of the children’s theater group, The Octavian Foundation for the Arts. She is an active volunteer at Holy Ghost Catholic Church and School, St. Thomas Aquinas Catholic High School and St. Albert the Great Catholic Student Center. In addition to her voluntary service on numerous Southeastern committees, such as Homecoming and Rock ’n’ Roar, Davis also is active with her professional association, the National Association of College Auxiliary Services, serving as president and filling other official positions.