Walker FFA members attended the 87th state FFA convention in Monroe, held June 7-10.

The FFA members participated in leadership workshops, listened to keynote motivational speakers and attended sessions put on by the state officer team. They also took part in courtesy corps, helping with the flow of the convention and state staff.

Layni LeBlanc ran for state office, going through a weeklong set of interviews and workshops. She was elected the 2016-17 state FFA secretary.

Students receiving awards included Matt Seguin, first in d airy production; Layni LeBlanc, first in small animal care; Luke Seguin, second in dairy and poultry production; Lauren Meades, second in small animal care; Roger Rios, second in agricultural services; Mikayla Martin, third in diversified livestock; Jamie LeBlanc, fourth in equine science; and Zane Pourcy, fourth in landscape management.

Walker FFA received a three-star gold chapter rating, the highest a chapter can receive, and hosted a booth for other FFA groups to visit.