Southeastern Louisiana University inducted nearly 60 undergraduate and graduate students and members of the faculty and alumni recently into its chapter of the national honor society, Phi Kappa Phi.

At the society’s annual induction banquet, awards for junior students from Southeastern’s five colleges were presented to Tangipahoa Parish students Emma Larmann, of Hammond, College of Business; and Christopher Alexander, of Amite, College of Science and Technology.

Recognized with the Outstanding Honor Student award was Tangipahoa Parish student Josie Serigne, of Ponchatoula.

Suyogya Karki, of Hammond, was awarded the Phi Kappa Phi Lou Ballard Endowed Scholarship, and Suraj Ayer, of Hammond, was named National Fellowship Applicant.

The honors organization also inducted several members of the Southeastern faculty and staff, including alumni Sally S. Carlisle and Terry Brown Sr., both of Covington, and Paulette Poche, of Ponchatoula.

Faculty members inducted included Glen J. Hemberger, of Greensburg; Charlotte Humphries, of Hammond; Dorothy Nelson and Edward T. Nelson, of Madisonville; and Lilllian Stiegler, of St. Amant.

To be considered for membership in the organization, a student must be in the top 10 percent of the senior or graduate class or a second-semester junior in the top 7.5 percent of the class.

This year’s Phi Kappa Phi initiates and award winners included Livingston and Tangipahoa parish residents:

Denham Springs : Bodie Dufrene.

Holden : Jenna McHugh.

Walker : Jessica Williams, Tammy Windmann, Cory A. Zunker and faculty member Mindy Crain-Dorough.

Amite : April Assavedo and Christopher Alexander.

Hammond : Caleb G. Holloway, Rachel Huffty, Amy Jordan Suyogya Karki, Januka Khanal, Savannah Klier, Alexis LaPlante, Emma Larmann, Kendarrioius Lewis, Samantha Matherne and faculty member Charlotte Humphries.

Ponchatoula : Staff Paulette Poche, Tiffinee Rhodus, Angelle Roddy, Ashley Salario, Megan C. Saybe, Binit Sharma Poudel and Josie Serigne.

Robert : Cory A. Prevost.