Tangipahoa Parish Sheriff Daniel Edwards has named recipients of an academic scholarship from the Louisiana Sheriffs’ Scholarship Program for the 2013-2014 school year.

Both recipients live in Tangipahoa Parish and plan to attend colleges in Louisiana.

Ashlyn Marie Dykes, of Hammond High Magnet Program, received a $500 LSA Scholarship, and McKenna Rae Jenkins, of Loranger High School, received a $500 LSA Scholarship.

The sheriff’s scholarship is made possible by the Louisiana Sheriffs’ Honorary Membership Program. Louisiana sheriffs provide scholarships to graduating high school seniors from each parish where the sheriff is an affiliate of the program.

Winners are chosen for their academic achievement, leadership and character. The limitations are that applicants be permanent residents of Louisiana; scholarships be utilized in higher education within the state; and students be enrolled as full-time, undergraduate students. Scholarships will be awarded in 63 parishes.

“This is one of our finest accomplishments that invests in Louisiana’s future and gives something back to our community,” Edwards said. “This would not be possible without the kind and generous support of the Louisiana Sheriffs’ Honorary Membership Program and our Tangipahoa Parish honorary members.”