The City Club of Hammond held its annual Law Enforcement Banquet on Jan. 29 at Trey Yuen in Hammond.

The banquet gives City Club members a chance to show their appreciation for local law enforcement agencies and to honor the best that local agencies have to offer, said a news release.

The agencies nominate officers for the award, and the award is presented to that officer at the banquet by the agency head or a direct supervisor, the release said. President Dickie Brocato oversaw the event, while Parker Layrisson emceed the event.

The following were presented with awards:

Officer Le’Cour Hall, Ponchatoula Police Department Officer of the Year, presented by Lt. Jeffery Miller.

Detective Chase Zaffuto, Hammond Police Department Officer of the Year, presented by Chief Roddy Devall and Sgt. Thomas Mushinsky.

Officer Jason Silessi, Southeastern Louisiana University Police Department Officer of the Year, presented by Chief Harold Todd.

Trooper Jason LaMarca, Louisiana State Police Troop L Trooper of the Year, presented by Capt. Paul Clark.

Sgt. Dustin McDonald, Tangipahoa Parish Sheriff’s Office deputy of the Year, presented by Sheriff Daniel Edwards.

Agent Daniel Varnado, Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries Agent of the Year.

The Hammond City Club also presented a new award at this year’s banquet, the Lifetime Service Award.

The Lifetime Service Award was presented to Joe Thomas for his service with the Louisiana National Guard and his special assignment to Louisiana State Police, the release said. Thomas, a Hammond resident, was presented with the award by former City Club President and current Hammond city prosecutor Britain Sledge. Thomas was selected to receive the award for his service to the United States and the Hammond community.