Area members of the Louisiana School for Math, Science and the Arts Class of 2016 were recognized with awards during the 32nd annual senior recognition program on May 20 on the campus of Northwestern State University in Natchitoches.

LSMSA Excellence Award winners were Nick Lipscomb, of Denham Springs, theater; Katherine Wheeler, of Denham Springs, Folio; Connor Elsea, of Denham Springs, computer science; and Erykah Wells, of Hammond, sports education.

The honorees received LSMSA medallions in their specific disciplines.

Wells also received the Marvin Lockhart Excellence in Work Service Award, given to students who demonstrate dependability, competence and the spirit of unselfishness and cooperation in carrying out the responsibilities of the work service program, a news release said.

“Always striving to do her best and working hard on every job, Wells put in far more than the required number of hours per week,” said Jenny Schmitt, coordinator of student engagement. “This work service superstar managed the daily operations of the gym and helped organize major events such as SLAMT and our second annual LSMSA volleyball and basketball tournaments.”