Ponchatoula school announces annual Awards Day winners _lowres

Photo provided by Margaret Hawkins -- Major award winners from Ponchatoula Junior High School Awards Day on May 18 were, from left, Alexandra Crovetto, Alayna Hawkins, Austin Granier and Zachary Larkin.

Recognition and Awards Day for eighth-grade students at Ponchatoula Junior High was held May 18 for the class of 370 students in the gymnasium at the Ponchatoula Area Recreation District park.

Major awards were won by Alexandra Crovetto, Alayna Hawkins, Austin Granier and Zachary Larkin.

Hawkins, PJHS Student of the Year and Tangipahoa Parish Student of the Year, briefly addressed the crowd of some 600 students, friends and families. Hawkins also earned the only 4.0 scholastic award, as well as the President’s Award of Excellence and Student Recognition by Teachers.

Granier was named winner of the Bardwell Award by coach Rusty Barrilleaux, the Beta Club medal, A-B Honor Roll medal and the Citizenship Award.

Crovetto received recognition for B Honor Roll, Literature Club award and the Principal’s Award from Principal Bobby Matthews.

Larkin received a medal for B Honor Roll and the Service Award plaque from Principal Matthews.

The pledge of allegiance was led by Beau Hodges, and Jamie Planchard sang the national anthem. Solos were sung by Cort Hawkins, Gabrielle Mince and Planchard.

Presidential Awards of Excellence : Alayna Hawkins, Marlie Smith, Lauren Welch, Autumn Passman, Aiden Dettwiller, Cassidy Anderson, Olivia Thornton, Hunter Hollie, Lydia Stegall.

American Legion Awards: Zachary Kirst and Autumn Passman.

American Legion Americanism Essay Contest winner: Dylan Mott.

PBIS Award: Autumn Passman.

Principal’s Achievement Award trophy and medal: Christopher Robinson.

Cottage Teachers Award: Christopher Robinson.

Club and Sports Awards: Jhyuaun Williams, boys basketball MVP; Da’Mari Coleman, Lyle Wells Award; Meleah Pea, Bardwell Award; Cassidy Michel, 4-H award; Luke Daniels, Project Unify; Brenan Dominguez, Rachel’s Challenge award; Beau Hodges, Student Council medal; Cooper Coldwell, “You Be the Chemist” award.

Accelerated Reader medals: Madylin Kemp, William Drake.

Perfect Attendance certificates and medals: William Drake, Grant Gros, Nijha Hines, Nolan Hutchinson, Charles Lenox, Jordan Louviere, Savannah Phillips, Karley Smith.

B Honor Roll (3.0-3.49): Kenneth Babin, Daniel Barrera, Breanna Berseygay, Janae Cohn, Bryce Cook, Claire Criswell, Alexandra Crovetto, Andrea Daigle, Luke Daniels, Ethan Doty, Lucas Drake, William Drake, Lance Drouet, Brooklyn Edwards, Sara Falcon, Peyton Fendlason, Argustus Fox, Kristen Graves, John Harper, Westen Hawkins, Camryn Hayden, Beau Hodges, Braeden Holden, Zachery Hoover, Kennedy Ivey, Mary Jefferson, Macye Johnson, Jeri Kershenstine, Alana Knight, Zachary Larkin, Miles Little, Jordan Louviere, Olivia Lyon, Mia Maillet, Leif Marvin, Malerie Millet, Kyleigh Mixon, Kelsie Montz, Reese Patrick, Jamie Planchard, Joshua Puls, Regi White.

A-B Honor Roll (3.50-3.9): Jakob Adams, Cassidy Anderson, Presley Brents, Randall Bush, Cooper Coldwell, Aiden Dettwiller, Austin Gassen, Alexandra Gomez-Resendiz, Austin Granier, Grant Gros, Julian Gros, Elana Guillory, Hunter Hollie, Charles Lenox, Joseph Louviere, Cassidy Michel, Harleigh Miller, Autumn Passman, Meleah Pea, Gabriel Pevey, Karlie Riche, Aleigh Sanders, Marlie Smith, Lydia Stegall, Savannah Thomas, Olivia Thornton, Lauren Welch, Abigale Zimbro.