8 scholarships awarded totalling $8,000 _lowres

Photo provided by SANDY SUMMERS -- Tangipahoa Professional Women's President Barbara Davis, left, presents scholarships to recipients, from left, Aimee Dufreche, April Gaydos, Hillory Hracek, Sarah Kron, Maria Lansden and Laken Sciortino, with TPW scholarship chair Rose Dominguez. Scholarship recipients not pictured are Abby Earles and Rebecca Schnadelbach.

The Tangipahoa Professional Women’s Organization recently awarded eight scholarships to women in the community who are pursuing bachelor’s and master’s degrees or who will start college in the fall. The total amount awarded this year was $8,000 and was divided equally among the winners.

TPW received more than 40 applications for this year’s scholarship. The scholarship committee followed a rigorous scoring process to determine the final winners, a news release said. This is the third time the TPW has given the scholarships.

The scholarship winners gathered at a luncheon held in their honor June 25 at Rosaryville Spirit Life Center in Ponchatoula. MediThrift, of Ponchatoula, sponsored the lunches for each scholarship recipient and her guest. TPW members were present to help celebrate and encourage the winners to become active in their communities and at their college campuses.

The Tangipahoa Professional Women’s Group has operated for more than five years. Its mission is to foster communication and support area businesses and professional women. The organization holds a major Women’s Conference annually and participates in additional fundraising and civic activities throughout the year. TPW hosts monthly luncheon meetings on the fourth Wednesday of each month. For information, visit TPW go to tangipw.org.