On June 1, Gov. John Bel Edwards announced his appointments to several Louisiana boards and commissions.

Parish Board of Election Supervisors

Phyllis M. Harrison, of Hammond, was appointed to the Tangipahoa Parish Board of Election Supervisors. Harrison is a retired deputy clerk of court for Tangipahoa Parish.

The purpose of the board in each parish is to oversee and supervise all elections within the parish to ensure the safety and accuracy of the democratic process. The Board of Election Supervisors oversees the preparation and conducting of each election in the parish. Each parish’s board is composed of the parish’s registrar of voters, the parish’s clerk of court, the chairman of the parish executive committee of each recognized political party, and one member appointed by the governor.

Louisiana Board of Professional Geoscientists

William H. Schramm, of Walker, was appointed to the Louisiana Board of Professional Geoscientists. Schramm is a registered geoscientist and a retired geologist supervisor. As required by statute, he was nominated by the Baton Rouge Geological Society and will serve as the representative of the 6th Congressional District.

The Louisiana Board of Professional Geoscientists serves to protect the health, safety and general welfare of all those persons engaged in the practice of geoscience, and affords such persons an effective and practical protection against the incompetent, inexperienced, unlawful and fraudulent acts of geoscientists with whom they contract.