The 2018 Louisiana Junior Angus Association held its annual banquet Feb. 14 in Gonzales.

It was followed Feb. 15 by the 2018 LSU AgCenter Livestock Show's Junior Angus Show, which had 94 entries.

Lee Denzer, of Kewanee, Illinois, and Summer Underwood, of Baton Rouge, evaluated the entries before naming champions.

Officers for the Louisiana Junior Angus Association board of directors are Kara LeBeouf, of Deridder, president; Lily Gisclair, of Longville, vice president; Lani LeBeouf, of DeRidder; second vice president; Olivia Shepherd, of Lake Charles, secretary; Austin Purpera, of Plaquemine, historian; and Baylie Romero, of Plaquemine; shadow historian.

Directors include Mackenzie Triche and Emma Olsen, both of St. Francisville; Emma Sarradet, of Addis; Miranda Graves, of Abita Springs; Payton Shepherd, of Lake Charles; Luke Gisclair, of Longville; Christian Corsentino, of Denham Springs; and John Benoit III, of Addis.

Area winners in the show include:

  • Ben Forbes, of Zachary, won the intermediate showmanship division.
  • Emma Olsen, of St. Francisville, finished fifth in intermediate showmanship.
  • Wyatt Olsen, of St, Francisville, placed third in junior showmanship.