LSU University College hosted its annual Phi Eta Sigma Initiation Ceremony on April 21 in the LSU Student Union’s Royal Cotillion Ballroom.

University College’s Chapter of Phi Eta Sigma inducted 234 freshmen scholastic achievers and presented the L. B. Lucky Award and Senior Award.

Phi Eta Sigma is a national honor society rewarding first-collegiate-year scholarships.

The goal of the society is to encourage and reward academic excellence among full-time freshmen students in institutions of higher learning who have a minimum 3.5 cumulative grade point average. Inductees receive national recognition, membership and undergraduate and graduate scholarship opportunities of more than $300,000.

“Phi Eta Sigma is a well-respected honor society of which I am pleased to be the advisor for the LSU Chapter,” said R. Paul Ivey, executive director of LSU University College. “This year’s induction of 234 students is one of our largest and is another means for University College to recognize the academic excellence of our freshmen.”

Baton Rouge students inducted into the LSU Chapter of Phi Eta Sigma included Ruwa M. Abu Farsakh, Eosa Agbongiator, Victor Alvarado, Kayla J. Berniard, Caitlin H. Carlos, Diane Susi Chan, Tylen Clark, Catherine Therese Corder, Raven Symone DeCuir, Pablo Santiago Garcia Rodriguez, Kendall Elise Gaudin, Emma Louise Gordon, Jasmin Leshawn Gosey, Sarah Elizabeth Grand, Benjamin Alcede Grandy, Jamie Lynn Granier, Adam Paul Guarisco, Alyssa Brooke Guillory, Brianna Nicole Hayes, Tysharah Kandace Jones, Samuel Andrew Kimbrell Jr., Caroline Marie Lamonte, Travis M. Landriault, Mingyue Li, Jesse P. Mayeaux, Delaney L. McNorton, Mason Locke Meredith, Lawrence Brennan Messina, Kirkley Marie Norton, Victoria Anne Pipes, Amanda Lynn Prochaska, David Reedy, Austin Taylor Riecke, Kacie Noel Rome, Kristina Nicole Sak, Keion RayLloyd Smith, Garland Grace Smith, Ann C. Stolzle, Katherine Tanner and Kathryn Reed Waggenspack.