Area youths were among the 157 new students welcomed to Louisiana School for Math, Science, and the Arts during the school’s annual matriculation ceremony Oct. 14 at Northwestern State University’s A.A. Fredericks Auditorium.

“In this ceremony, we celebrate the accomplishment that has brought you to this place and this privilege that you now have as a student of LSMSA,” said Steve Horton, executive director.

The new faces included nine students in the Class of 2018, 48 in the class of 2019 and 100 in the Class of 2020.

“Over the past year, more than 300 students entered the application process, 280 had the ability to complete it, and 157 demonstrated that you have the ability to succeed at LSMSA,” Horton said. “Ninety percent came to LSMSA with a grade-point average between 3.5 and 4.0. Your composite ACT is 24.”

The program included Buras senior Dennis Keo leading the Pledge of Allegiance, Alexandria senior Amy Liu talking about the student pledge and Class of 2007 member Matthew Claiborne giving his keynote address. Closing remarks were given by Presley Simmons, a Walker senior and senior class president, and William Heitman, a Baton Rouge junior and junior class president.

New students include:

ASCENSION PARISH: Caleb Coleman, Emery Haynes, Sofia Lavidalie, Kylie Walker and Eden Wiltz

EAST BATON ROUGE PARISH: Nick Adams, William Casey, Orlando Edwards, Steely Forrester, Danielle Gonzalez, Ryann Hamilton, Jameson Harrington, Andrew Huze and Madeline O’Connor

LIVINGSTON PARISH: Heather Collier, Brianna Day, Josie Dial, Keaton Dicapo, Hannah Hauptman, Victoria Howard, Max Hopcraft, Rowen Johnson, Brandon Logan, Kyle McCleary, Maris Reno and Anna Sloan

TANGIPAHOA PARISH: Jada Bezue, Luke Johnson, Sean Lane and Madison Saucier