Three anglers will receive the Louisiana Outdoor Writers Association’s 2014 Fish of the Year Awards at LOWA’s annual convention in Morgan City on Aug. 7-8.

The organization annually honors the anglers voted by the LOWA Fish Records Committee with the most significant catch in the previous year in rod and reel and fly fishing divisions. The winners will receive their awards at a banquet Aug. 8 at the Holiday Inn in Morgan City.

Lawson Boyte, of Oak Grove, will receive the rod and reel division award for his first-place record for a 114-pound blue catfish. He caught the fish in March 2014 on the Mississippi River, fishing out of East Carroll Parish.

The fly fishing division awards will go to Ben Roussel, of Baton Rouge, and Charles M. Johnson Jr., of Tualatin, Oregon.

Roussel landed a 4.07-pound bowfin at Keller’s Lake in Pointe Coupee Parish in April 2014, setting a new record. Johnson caught a sheepshead at Lake Eloi in Breton Sound in January 2014, a new record.

For more information about the winners, contact LOWA Fish Records Chairman Lyle Johnson at