Police Jury elects new officers _lowres

Theodore McCray Jr.

St. Helena Parish Police Juror Theodore McCray Jr. was elected as jury president by a 6-0 vote Jan. 13 during the jury’s first meeting of the year.

Juror Warren McCray Jr. was elected as the jury’s vice president with a 6-0 vote.

Theodore McCray replaces Thomas Wicker, who had served as president.

Theodore McCray said one of his priorities in the coming year will be to restore credibility to the parish.

“I feel the Police Jury, along with other parish officials, have made great strides in restoring trust both in local and state wide venues,” Theodore McCray said.

In other business, the Audubon Regional Library Board of Commissioners requested the appointment of Roger Wiersema to the board for a five-year term.