Many of West Feliciana High School’s recent graduates received, in addition to TOPS awards, more than $1 million in local scholarship awards and offers from colleges and universities, WFHS Literacy Integration Specialist Georgia Dudley said.

A heavy rain forced the school’s May 25 graduation organizers to eliminate the announcements of scholarships awarded to students.

So, Dudley said, parents and families gathered didn’t get to hear the long list of scholarships that were to be presented.

Many of the scholarships were awarded to the students from local businesses, businessmen and women, organizations and private donors who see the potential in West Feliciana youth enough to invest in their futures, Dudley said.

“The leadership, service and work ethic of these students should be congratulated. They’ve earned these awards to help them in pursuit of their dreams,” Dudley said. “We thank everyone who rewarded our students and invested in their potential.”

The West Feliciana Parish Hospital awarded two $10,000 scholarships to Jessica Felder and Emma Hopkins, who have chosen to become health care professionals.

The Nootsie and Bob Couhig Scholarship Fund via the St. Francisville Area Foundation in the amount of $10,000 was awarded to Holly Midkiff for exhibiting a superior work ethic and remaining committed to attending college, a release said.

Andre Brock, a West Feliciana Parish 4-H agent, presented Averi Young with the Jacqueline Garza Memorial Scholarship, the A.P. and Beryl Parham Memorial State Scholarship for Animal Science Majors and the Louisiana 4-H Foundation Parish Award, totaling $1,900.

Also, Brock presented Toler Beachamp with the Scott Tractor and Jacqueline Garza Memorial scholarships, totaling $1,200.

The Bob Odom Football Athletic Scholarship, established by Millie Odom in memory of her late husband, Bob Odom, a devoted West Feliciana Saints fan, was awarded to Ryan Reed, Barry Sigur and Desmond Wilson. Each received $500.

Also, Ngozi Nwabueze received the Women’s Service League Scholarship for $1,000 from Caroline Alberstardt for demonstrating academic achievement, community involvement and leadership; a $500 scholarship from Janice Crutchfield at the Bank of St. Francisville for being the student with the highest grade-point average; the Eugenia Percy White Memorial Scholarship from the local chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution; and the Entergy Community Power Scholarship from River Bend Nuclear Plant for exhibiting excellence in education, community outreach and leadership, the release said.

The St. Francisville Rotary Club awarded a $1,000 scholarship to Nwabueze and to Destiny Wilson for having a 2.5 gpa or above, being involved in extracurricular activities and for their community service.

The Rev. Milton Coates, of Magnolia Full Gospel Baptist Church, awarded two scholarships: one for $800 to Nwabueze and one for $400 to Lorenzo Green.

Ollie Stephens received the Noflin Scholarship for $1,000 established in memory of Mary Noflin Hunt for scoring well on the ACT, having a strong gpa and remaining committed to attending a four-year university.

Also, Stephens was awarded the Aldrena Carter Vessel Scholarship for $1,000 from Nicole Carter Carmena and Carlon Vessel for volunteering in the community and for remaining committed to volunteerism during college.

The Knights of Columbus Scholarship for $700 and the American Legion Scholarship for $500 were both awarded to Logan Pohlmann.

Two $300 Remember the Children Memorial Scholarships were awarded to Destiny Mills in memory of Matthews Pate Sr. and to Trutoria Brown in memory of Vanyel Wilson.

Sheriff J. Austin Daniel presented a $500 scholarship from the Louisiana Sheriff’s Association to Mary Quin Louviere for achieving academic success, planning to enroll in a Louisiana college, participating in extracurricular activities and displaying good citizenship at school and in the community.

The Arnell Rogers Scholarship in the amount of $500 was presented to Carlows Dennis for maintaining a minimum 2.5 gpa and for planning to pursue a post-secondary education.

Also, Dennis received a $500 scholarship from Independence Baptist Church.

The West Feliciana Parish Ministers Conference awarded six scholarships to Kelsee Dukes, Alacia Hampton, Nwabueze, Chris Rowan, Malik Thompson and Stephens for having a 2.5 gpa or higher and for being a church member within the parish.

The Sarah T. Anderson Scholarship, sponsored by Happi Llanders, went to Tyreanna Lewis and Kelsey Scales, Also, both girls received two additional $250 scholarships from Happi Llandiers.

A $500 scholarship in memory of Tyler Race Felps, who would have been a member of the 2015 WFHS graduating class, was presented to Danté Foster for being hardworking and planning to participate in postsecondary vocational training.

The Gaye Wilkerson Memorial Scholarship for $500 was presented to Thomas Stevenson for his interest in journalism, writing and for pursuing a career in a journalism related field.

A scholarship fund established in the memory of Lindsay Paige Weller, a 2002 graduate of West Feliciana High, was awarded to John Hamilton for participating in Grace Episcopal Church events, being involved in the community and seeking a higher education.

The Alpha Mu Chapter of the Delta Kappa Gamma Society International presented a scholarship to Shiana Landers for pursuing a degree in education.

Ashton Gibbon received a pin and certificate from the Daughters of the American Revolution for demonstrating outstanding character and citizenship at school and in the community.