Tourism panel welcomes new officers, member _lowres

Photo provided by Laurie Walsh -- The West Feliciana Parish Tourist Commission’s board members, from left, include Mark Drennen; Susanne Tully, chairwoman; Kitty Martin; Catherine Leake, secretary-treasurer; Beth Pace, vice chairwoman; Laurie Walsh, director; Jerry Landrum; and Johnny Patrick.

At its March meeting, the West Feliciana Parish Tourist Commission welcomed Jerry Landrum as its newest member and recognized Catherine Leake and Susanne Tully, both reappointed to three-year terms.

The three join Mark Drennen, Kitty Martin, Beth Pace and Johnny Patrick on the Tourist Commission board, which oversees tourism marketing and promotion for St. Francisville and West Feliciana Parish.

Julie Brashier, outgoing member, was honored for her service and dedication to the commission’s efforts.

Created by legislative statute as a political subdivision of Louisiana, the Tourist Commission’s job is to market and maintain tourism as a strong economic base for West Feliciana, Executive Director Laurie Walsh said.

The commission is funded by a 3 percent occupancy tax collected from overnight visitors to the many bed and breakfast inns, hotels and RV campsites throughout the parish.

Meetings are held at 5 p.m. on the second Wednesday of the month at the St. Francisville Town Hall.

In January, Tully was elected as chairwoman of the commission, Pace as vice chairwoman and Leake as secretary-treasurer.

In February, members met for their annual strategic planning session to set goals for 2016 and revisited the 2015 strategic plan, which was developed with input from tourism professionals and parish residents, Walsh said.

For information, call (225) 635-4224 or email Walsh at