St. Francisville teen member of Hispanic Honor Society _lowres

Photo provided by Crystal Evans -- Rebeca Roldan, of St. Francisville, is a senior member of the Hispanic Honor Society at Louisiana School for Math, Science and the Arts.

Ten students were initiated into the Hispanic Honor Society at the Louisiana School for Math, Science and the Arts on Nov. 5.

Only students with a minimum of two consecutive semesters of Spanish study at LSMSA and those with an average of 88 percent or higher in the language course are invited to be members.

Students from other schools who place at level two or higher and maintain an average of 88 or higher during their first semester at LSMSA are invited to be members, according to Crystal Evans, of LSMSA, in a news release.

Other member requirements include a clean disciplinary record, grade-point average of at least 3.3 at the end of each academic year, no D’s at the end of the semester, continuous attendance at monthly meetings, active participation in club activities and participation in the society’s annual community service project, Evans said.

The service project is chosen by students at the start of the academic year.

Society members also participate in the Southern Louisiana University Foreign Language Festival and in the Literary Rally with a very high rate of success, according to the release.

The Society provides Spanish peer tutors for the LSMSA community year-round and participates in events during Hispanic Heritage Month.

Sponsored by Dr. Maria Sanchez, the LSMSA chapter of the Hispanic Society was created during the 2010-11 academic year and is titled Plus Ultra. The chapter’s motto is “All Together.”

New members, underclassmen, are Nicholas Benner and Kenny Green, Natchitoches; Marcos Cecchini, Denham Springs; Brianna Curry, Plaucheville; Amir Shalabi, Alexandria; Joshua Ballagh, Leesville; Helena Palmisano, Kenner; Christopher Carter, Geismar; Brooke Mendoza, Lutcher; and Lacey Hines, Gretna.

Senior members are Marika Buchholz, president, and Sebastian Brumfield-Mejia, Baton Rouge; David Canada, vice president, Slidell; Rebeca Roldan, St. Francisville; Azum Beg, Waania Beg, Aryiana Moore and Shiva Velingker, Leesville; Tytiana Isaac, New Roads; Hyeyon Kim, Monroe; Hanna Li, Shreveport; Neel Reddy, Destrehan; Erica Chachere, Church Point; Jack Dalton, Lafayette; Marissa Lausen, Houma; Jong-Ho Lee, Kenner; Deborah Adeyemi, Ruston; and Ritcha Roy, Lake Charles.