Zachary Mayor David Amrhein; City Council members Ben Cavin, Francis Nezianya, Brandon Noel, Laura O’Brien and Tommy Womack; and Police Chief David McDavid were sworn into office Jan. 12 at the city’s inauguration ceremony at Fellowship Church.

Master of ceremonies William “Billy” Kline welcomed guests, and members of Zachary High School’s Jazz Band, under the direction of Donny Alexander, helped kick off the program.

The Rev. Stephen Byrd, pastor at First Baptist Church of Zachary, gave the invocation; Zachary High’s Junior ROTC presented the colors; Fire Chief Danny Kimble led the Pledge of Allegiance; the Rev. Starr Hornsby, pastor at Fellowship Church, said the prayer for the city; and the Rev. Ricky Willis, Zachary United Methodist, recited the benediction.

The five City Council members were the first to take the oath of office: Councilman Nezianya, District 1, was sworn in by 19th Judicial District Court Judge Todd Hernandez; Councilmen Noel, District 2, and Cavin, District 4, were sworn in by Zachary City Court Judge Lonny Myles; Councilwoman O’Brien, District 3, was sworn in by state Sen. Rick Ward; and Councilman Womack, District 5, was sworn in by his wife and notary public, Diane Womack.

The council members invited their families onstage for the ceremony.

McDavid, joined by his family and members of the Zachary Police Department, was administered the oath by his son and local attorney, Ricky McDavid.

Amrhein was surrounded by his wife, Robyn; sons Blake and Dustin; daughter-in-law, Laura-Kate; and grandson, Jackson. He was sworn into office for a second term by Kline, an attorney.

“I want to thank the community for re-electing us. I say ‘us’ because I don’t do anything alone; we do it together,” Amrhein said. “I’m just as proud today as I was the first time I was up here. This is the greatest job I’ve ever had, but really, it’s not a job. I enjoy getting up and doing this every day. I’m passionate about this city. Thank you from the bottom of my heart.”

Performances included Tess Ricketts singing the national anthem and “America the Beautiful”; Angela Smith singing “God Bless the USA”; the Zachary Elementary School choir singing “God Bless America”; and the Copper Mill Elementary choir singing “Unsung Hero.”