Zachary girls track and field coach Chris Carrier knew it would take at least as many points as last year if the Lady Broncos were to repeat as the Division I state indoor champions this year.

His team exceeded his expectations as the Lady Broncos collected 61 points to outdistance Mandeville (52), Lafayette (42), Baton Rouge High (39) and Ruston (25) to win their second-straight Division I All-State-Sugar Bowl/LHSAA indoor championships on Feb. 20 at the Carl Maddox Field House on the LSU campus.

“This was a total team effort,” said Carrier, whose squad also is the defending state outdoor champions. “Last year it took 50 points, and this year we needed 60.”

Junior speedster Janie O’Connor notched the seventh fastest 60-meter dash time in the country this year, winning the event in 7.48 and earning 10 points as she set the pace for Zachary’s scoring. O’Connor also teamed with Dakota Williams, Indya Jackson and Kiara Bethley to win the 4x200 relay in 1:45.55, surviving a dropped baton along the way to earn 10 more points.

O’Connor also finished first in the 400-meter dash, winning in 56.14, just four 100ths of a second off the meet record and good for another 10 points. Jackson was third in the 400 to add six points, finishing in 59.44, and Bethley was fifth in the 60-meter dash in 7.86 to earn two points.

Also scoring points for the Lady Broncos was Frankie Griffin, who won the high jump with an effort of 5 feet, 5 inches for 10 points. Griffin also earned a point in the long jump, finishing sixth with a leap of 16 feet, 3 inches. She later teamed with O’Connor, Bethley and Jackson to finish third in the 4x400-meter relay in 4:03.49, earning six points. Meanwhile, Kristian Jackson finished third in the shot put with a throw of 40 feet, 9.5 inches to gain six points for the Lady Broncos.

ZHS football adds hardware

The Zachary football team collected another trophy for its stellar 2015 season. MaxPreps and the Army National Guard presented the Broncos with a trophy for being nationally ranked, one of 50 presented to teams across the country last week.

The Broncos, which finished the season ranked 64th in the final MaxPreps rankings, were the only Louisiana team to earn the honor.

The school received a trophy and a banner during a pep rally in the school’s gym. Quarterback Lindsey Scott Jr. received the offensive player award, while linebacker Ty’wan Beardon received the defensive trophy.

The Broncos defeated John Ehret in the Superdome for the school’s first state championship in December.

“It’s February, and we’re still talking about this football team,” Zachary coach David Brewerton said. “I just want to say thank you. I want to say thank you so much to our student body and to our faculty and administration. For MaxPreps and the National Guard to honor the Zachary football program as being one of the top ones in the country means a great deal.”

Send sports news, photos and stats to Howard Arceneaux at