Photo provided by Tess Ricketts -- Career, contract and volunteer firefighters with the Zachary Fire Department gathered Oct. 24 for an annual awards banquet held at The Pointe at Americana. Honors and recognitions were awarded for firefighters of the year, fire and medical life saves and years of service.

Career, contract and volunteer firefighters with the Zachary Fire Department gathered Oct. 24 for their annual awards banquet at The Pointe at Americana.

Justin Bradley was honored as Firefighter of the Year, and the Volunteer Firefighter of the Year award went to Jayson Fullerton.

Fire Chief Danny Kimble said deputy chiefs nominate two firefighters from each shift, for a total of six. The entire department then votes on firefighter of the year.

“They’re nominated based on their performance and manner in which they represent the Zachary Fire Department,” Kimble said.

Guest speaker was Durell Tuberville, a licensed counselor, therapist and motivational speaker, who has been involved in trauma recovery since 1989. He serves as chaplain for the Caddo Parish Sheriff’s Office and Caddo Fire District 3.

“He was poignant, funny and memorable,” Kimble said of Tuberville’s speech.

Receiving certificates and pins for their dedicated years of service were Deputy Chief Michael Hopwood, 40 years; Capt. Blaine Bankston, firefighter Rick Dudley, Capt. Adam Kimble, Capt. Casey Phenald and Capt. Todd Phenald, 10 years; and firefighters Catherine Page and Eric Wood, five years.

For the first time, the department awarded fire and medical save honors to firefighters going above and beyond the call of duty or whose actions helped save the life of another.

Capt. Jonathan Knight, Capt. Bryan Henderson and firefighter Cody Shaffer were honored with the fire lifesaver award for their actions on Nov. 28, 2013. The three entered a trailer fire and discovered a man unresponsive, overcome by smoke inhalation.

Kimble said the three firefighters saved the man’s life with their rescue efforts.

Firefighters Bradley, David Hughes and James Roberts received the medical lifesaver honor for their actions on March 13. The three firefighters responded to a residence to find a man unconscious and with no heart rate.

The firefighters acted quickly, saving the man’s life, Kimble said.

Deputy Chief David Armand, Henderson and firefighters Jordan Munn and Shaffer were awarded the medical lifesaver award for actions and duties performed April 20. The firefighters found a man in his home unresponsive, not breathing and administered CPR. The man received further care at the hospital thanks to the firefighters’ swift response, Kimble said.

Deputy Chief Chris Lawton received the medical lifesaver award for actions performed June 2 while on vacation with his family in Mexico.

Kimble said Lawton came to the aid of a man in distress.

“It was only until a letter arrived from the man expressing his gratitude for Lawton and describing his actions that day,” Kimble said. “Otherwise we’d have never known about the incident or Lawton’s efforts.”

Career fire personnel with the Zachary department include Clint Anders, David Armand, Justin Bradley, Anthony Capone, James Henderson, Ronald Hives, Coy Hobgood, Michael Hopwood, Stephen Jones, Jonathan Knight, Chris Lawton, Steven Lewis, Gordon Lipscomb, Brad Miller, James “Jimbo” Noland, Casey Phenald, Todd Phenald, Karen Phillips, Daniel Reifer, Gordon Segraves, Cody Shaffer, Rudi Shoats, Tommy Sims, Glenn Triche, Justin Walker, Jeremy Wilks and Chris Young.

Contract firefighters are Russell Achord, Blaine Bankston, Montrell Burrell, Chase Cothern, Vincent Cullen, Rhett Digirolamo, Rick Dudley, Jonathan Dunaway, Scott Dupre, Michael Gregoire, Joshua Jones, Michael Keller, Adam Kimble, Michael Kimble, Kade Lipscomb, Matthew McConnell, Jeremy Mizell, Jordan Munn, James Roberts, Adam Smith, Camron Thompson, Tommie Walters, Eric Wood and Ben Zachary.

Volunteer fire personnel include Alex Ard, Matthew Ard, Hunter Beavers, Jordan Charlet, Jayson Fullerton, Buddy Gros, Shawn Gros, Jaime Guillory, Johnny Hart, Kyle Horne, Galen Kent, Adam Kimble, Michael Kimble, Mike LeJeune, Chase Lord, Chris McGraw, Catherine Page, John Piker, John Reason, Aaron Simon, Carl Stanley, Robert Triche, Aaron Whitaker and Ryan Wilkinson.

Some firefighters are contract as well as volunteer and are therefore listed twice.