Farm Bureau helps farmers, growers _lowres

Advocate staff photo by STACY GILL -- Zachary Rotarian Aaron Durand, left, welcomed Jim Monroe, center, assistant to the Louisiana Farm Bureau Federation president, and Tim Payne, director of Field Services, to the March 17 Rotary Club meeting to share a bit about what the organization does for farmers, growers and landowners throughout the state.

The Louisiana Farm Bureau Federation is the state’s largest general farm organization that represents farmers, ranchers and rural residents in all 64 parishes.

It’s a private nonprofit and nongovernmental agency established in 1922 in Zachary to bring a voice to agricultural issues at the local, state and national levels, said Jim Monroe, assistant to the Louisiana Farm Bureau Federation president.

“It was a result of a farmers’ movement after World War II, when there was a real depression for agriculture, before the Great Depression for everyone began,” Monroe told the Zachary Rotary Club on March 17.

Monroe, along with Tim Payne, director of Field Services, shared information about the services and benefits of the organization.

“Through input from farmers and ranchers on specific issues, Farm Bureau works to influence legislation and regulations that’ll enable Louisiana and national agriculture to become better,” Payne said. “We’ll continue to monitor, oppose and support some of the bills.”

The state federation, which is part of the American Farm Bureau Federation established in 1919, includes nearly 150,000 farmers, ranchers, rural residents, landowners, agricultural lenders and others with a vested interest in the future and prosperity of Louisiana agriculture.

Besides East Baton Rouge Parish’s Baton Rouge and Zachary offices, there are locations in Clinton and St. Francisville.

Ronnie Anderson, of Ethel, is president of LFBF and was first elected in 1989. He works as a cattle producer, forage grower and timber landowner.

Anderson is one of a five-member executive committee made up of the president, first, second and third vice presidents and a secretary-treasurer.

Eleven other members, representing geographical districts, form the Farm Bureau Board of Directors.

Divisions of the LFBF include Ag in the Classroom, Commodity Department, Field Services, Legislative Affairs,

Information and Public Relations, Marketing, Safety Department, Women’s Leadership Committee and Young Farmers and Ranchers.

To learn more about the federation, visit