Gov. Elect John Bel Edwards named a 52-member transition committee Tuesday to study issues for kindergarten through 12th grade.

The panel will be be chaired by Scott Richard, executive director of the Louisiana School Boards Association.

Members feature key political allies, including Steve Monaghan, president of the Louisiana Federation of Teachers and Debbie Meaux, president of the Louisiana Association of Educators.

Edwards, who takes office on Jan. 11, was often allied with the LFT and LAE as a member of the state House, including the House Education Committee.

“I’ve asked this committee to take a serious look at solution-driven ideas for the challenges we are facing so that we can produce better outcomes for all of our students, moving forward with the best options for parents, and treating teachers and school employees with the respect they deserve,” Edwards said in a prepared statement.

Two former members of the state Board of Elementary and Secondary Education are also on the panel.

They are Leslie Jacobs, of New Orleans, who is considered one of the architects of the sweeping changes in public schools, many of which were opposed by the LFT and LAE.

Former BESE member Linda Johnson, who lives in Plaquemine, is another member.

Others include Domoine Rutledge, general counsel for the East Baton Rouge Parish school system; Wade Smith, superintendent of the LSU Lab School and Doris Voitier, superintendent of the St. Bernard Parish School District.