St. Francisville teacher named Louisiana’s teacher of the year _lowres

Carla Jackson

A West Feliciana Parish elementary teacher took top honors as Louisiana’s teacher of the year at an awards ceremony for outstanding educators Saturday at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Baton Rouge.

The top award went to Carla Jackson, a teacher at Bains Elementary School in St. Francisville, who will travel to Washington, D.C., to compete at the national level.

Denise Rehm, principal of Joshua Butler Elementary in Jefferson Parish, was named Louisiana’s principal of the year and will also travel to Washington to compete.

Those recognized as outstanding principals were: Marjorie Meyers, principal of Pecan Grove Elementary School in Ascension Parish; Patrick Mackin, principal at Slidell Jr. High School in St. Tammany Parish; and Ken Oertling, principal at Hahnville High School in St. Charles Parish.

Those recognized as outstanding teachers were: Tammy Schales, a teacher at Ruston Elementary School in Lincoln Parish; Justin Burkhardt, a teacher at Andrew Jackson Middle School in St. Bernard Parish; and Anita Szombathelyi, a teacher at Airline High School in Bossier Parish.

The announcements of the 2015 Louisiana teacher and principal of the year were made by Dream Teachers and the Louisiana Department of Education at the eighth annual Cecil J. Picard Educator Excellence Symposium and Celebration.