Gov.-elect John Bel Edwards has named a panel of 46 people who will help him come up with a plan for expanding Medicaid and addressing other health care issues as he prepares to take office Jan. 11.

“Expanding access to healthcare for Louisiana’s working families is one of my top priorities,” Edwards said in a statement. “These are our tax dollars going to other states when we could be using them right here at home.”

Among other tasks for the panel, Edwards has instructed members to review the state’s public-private hospital partnerships. The goal, he said, is ultimately to reduce costs to taxpayers.

Edwards has picked Nursing Home Association president Ronnie Goux and Teche Action Clinic CEO Dr. Gary Wiltz to chair the committee.

Other members are:

  • Dr. Jack Andonie, a retired doctor and former member of the LSU Board of Supervisors.
  • Robert Barsley, professor at the LSU Health Sciences Center School of Dentistry.
  • George Bell, administrator at Baton Rouge General Hospital.
  • Jimmie Benoit, owner of STAT Home Health West.
  • Sherri Buffington, former state senator.
  • Charles Castille, executive director of the Louisiana Rural Hospital Coalition.
  • Dr. William Cefalu, executive director of Pennington Biomedical Research Center.
  • Dr. Takeisha Davis, medical director of the Office of Public Health and director of the Center for Community and Preventive Health at the Department of Health and Hospitals.
  • Greg Feirn, CEO of Louisiana Children’s Medical Center.
  • Teri Fontenot, president and CEO of Woman’s Hospital.
  • John Paul Funes, president of the Our Lady of the Lake Foundation.
  • Michael Griffin, president and CEO of Daughters of Charity Health Centers.
  • Dr. Carla Harmon, clinical administrative coordinator at Our Lady of the Lake College School of Nursing.
  • Dr. Don Hines, executive director of the Louisiana Rural Hospital Information Exchange.
  • Dr. Larry Hollier, chancellor of LSUHSC at New Orleans.
  • Anthony Jackson, administrative assistant at Jena High School.
  • Raymond Jetson, pastor of Starhill Baptist Church.
  • Dr. Lester Johnson, assistant dean of LSU Health Sciences Center at Shreveport.
  • Teri Johnson, president of the Calcasieu Federation of Teachers.
  • Pat Keel, chief financial officer of University Health System Shreveport.
  • Dr. Steven Kelley, medical doctor at Baton Rouge. Cardiology.
  • Jackie Lansdale, president of Red River United
  • Donna Mayeux, civic volunteer and advocate
  • Neal Paul Miller, business manager at Plumbers and Steamfitters Local 198.
  • Dr. Claude Minor, general surgeon at University Health at Conway.
  • Randy Morris, chairman of the Rural Hospital Coalition and owner of West Carroll Health Systems.
  • Andrew Muhl, advocacy director at AARP.
  • Michael Myers, legislative lobbyist for Red River United.
  • Pete November, chief administrative officer at Ochsner Health System.
  • David Osborn, owner and pharmacist at Schilling Pharmacy.
  • Ed Parker, field representative for the American Federation for State, County and Municipal Employees.
  • Dr. Mark Peters, president and CEO of East Jefferson General Hospital.
  • Jamie Schlottman, president and CEO of Louisiana Healthcare Connections, Centene Corporation’s Louisiana-based subsidiary.
  • Dr. Maurice Sholas, consultant at Sholas Medical Consulting.
  • Dr. Monteic A. Sizer, executive director of Northeast Delta Human Services Authority.
  • Mark Slyter, president and CEO of Baton Rouge General.
  • Terri Sterling, executive vice president at Our Lady of the Lady Regional Medical Center in Baton Rouge.
  • Todd Stevens, president and CEO of the Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center.
  • Thomas Tate, former government relations manager at the Louisiana Association of Educators.
  • M.J. Terrebonne, former Medicaid pharmacy director at DHH.
  • Willie White, CEO of David Raines Community Health Centers.
  • Sandee Winchell, executive director of the Louisiana Developmental Disabilities Council.
  • Randall Johnson, president and CEO of Louisiana Independent Pharmacies Associations.
  • Lynda Woolard, president of the Woolard Family Foundation.
  • <</ul>