Louisiana voters will go to the polls Saturday to make choices for governor; lieutenant governor; other statewide offices and some legislative posts, as well as to decide whether to pass five amendments to the state constitution.

In East Baton Rouge Parish, the state’s largest parish, voters will cast ballots for sheriff and coroner and two boards while Zachary residents will vote for police chief.

The polls open at 6 a.m. and close at 8 p.m.

Early voting for the Oct. 22 election statewide was 162,647 votes, Secretary of State spokeswoman Brandee Patrick said. Early voting in East Baton Rouge Parish was 9,344 votes, Patrick said.

Secretary of State officials are expecting a 35 percent to 40 percent voter turnout Saturday, Patrick said.

In the gubernatorial race, Gov. Bobby Jindal, a Republican, is seeking re-election. Jindal has nine challengers: Democrats Cary Deaton; Tara Hollis; “Niki Bird” Papazoglakis and Ivo “Trey” Roberts; Libertarian Scott Lewis and David Blanchard, Leonard “Lenny” Bollingham and Ron Ceasar and William Robert “Bob” Lang, who do not have a party affiliation.

In the lieutenant governor’s race, incumbent Jay Dardenne, is being challenged by fellow Republican and Plaquemines Parish President Billy Nungesser.

In the Secretary of State’s race, incumbent Tom Schedler is taking on challenger and fellow Republican and House Speaker Jim Tucker.

In the race for state Commissioner of Agriculture and Forestry, incumbent Mike Strain, a Republican, has two challengers, Belinda “B” Alexandrenko and Jamie LaBranch.

In the race for state Insurance Commissioner are incumbent Jim Donelon, a Republican, and challenger Donald C. Hodge, a Democrat.

Voters across the state will also cast ballots for eight seats on the state Board of Elementary and Secondary Education and various state Senate and state House seats.

The following are elections in the Baton Rouge area:

EAST BATON ROUGE PARISH: Incumbent Sheriff Sid Gautreaux, a Republican has a challenger, Mark Milligan, a Democrat.

Incumbent Coroner Shannon Cooper, a Republican, has two challengers, William “Beau” Clark, a Republican and Eric Teschke, a Democrat.

Voters parishwide also will consider measures to expand the boards that oversee the parish’s parks system and library system by designating seats for residents of Baker, Central and Zachary.

LIVINGSTON PARISH: Four candidates are vying for sheriff, Jason Ard, Pete Aranyosi, Cookie Billingsley and Mickey McMorris.

Voters also will cast ballots in the parish president’s race where the candidates are incumbent Mike Grimmer and challengers Donald Burgess and Layton Ricks.

There are also races for assessor and Parish Council seats.

ASCENSION PARISH: Incumbent Parish President Tommy Martinez is seeking re-election against one challenger, Kathryn Goppelt.

There are also races for sheriff, assessor and Parish Council seats.

WEST BATON ROUGE PARISH: Incumbent Sheriff Mike Cazes is being challenged by fellow Democrat Troy A. Maranto.

Incumbent Parish President Riley “Pee Wee” Berthelot is seeking re-election against fellow Democrat Philip Mason.

IBERVILLE PARISH: Incumbent Parish President Mitch Ourso has two challengers, Democrat Eugene Stevens Jr. and O’Neal “Elmo” Bosley, who has no party affiliation.

There are also races for sheriff; assessor and Parish Council.