Legislative and parish races continued to gather candidates Wednesday during the second day of qualifying for the Oct. 24 primary election.

The qualifying period ends at 4:30 p.m. Thursday.

As expected, East Baton Rouge Parish Metro Councilwoman C. Denise Marcelle joined the race for the District 61 House seat left vacant after the death of state Rep. Alfred Williams. Fellow Democratic Metro Councilwoman Donna Collins-Lewis also has qualified for that seat.

State Rep. Ted James, D-Baton Rouge, qualified for his District 101 House seat. State Sen. Dan Claitor, R-Baton Rouge, qualified to run for re-election. He already had picked up a challenger in fellow Republican Scott McKnight, a vice president and director of business development for BancorpSouth Insurance.

“Shamaka” Schumake, a Democrat, signed up to challenge incumbent state Rep. Franklin Foil, R-Baton Rouge, who already had qualified for a District 70 seat.

Dean “Deaneaux” Vicknair, vice chairman of the East Baton Rouge Democratic Party, qualified to run for the open District 63 House seat. Barbara West Carpenter, a dean at Southern University, and attorney Joyce Marie Plummer threw their hats into the ring on Tuesday in that House race.

Two more candidates joined an increasingly crowded field challenging state Rep. Darrell Ourso, R-Baton Rouge, elected earlier this year to District 66. Ourso will face three other Republicans — Rick Bond, Rick Edmonds, and Rusty Secrist — as well as Antoine Pierce, a Democrat.

Republican Robert Cade Cipriano signed up to challenge sitting state Rep. Steve Carter, R-Baton Rouge, in District 68.

Mark Holden, a Democrat, qualified for the District 69 House seat. Paula Davis, a Republican, already had signed up.

In Ascension Parish, the number of hopefuls wishing to replace two-term Parish Councilman Chris Loar rose to five Wednesday.

Loar, a Republican who represents a fast-growing suburban area in Prairieville east of Airline Highway and mostly north of La. 42, is giving up the District 7 seat in a bid to replace outgoing Parish President Tommy Martinez this fall. Loar is in a four-person election himself.

Three qualified Tuesday for District 7: Mac “Rooster Lips” Edmonston, Ken Firmin and Aaron Lawler. Two more candidates qualified Wednesday: Tony Christy and Doug Hillensbeck. All five are Republicans who are promising fiscally conservative or more efficient governing.

Christy is a businessman and retired worker at the former Ormet Corp. facility in Burnside. Hillensbeck is a former one-term councilman who represented Council District 7 before Loar took office in early 2008. Lawler is a lawyer and managing partner in his firm.

Firmin had owned the Geismar trash company Acadian Waste but sold it to Waste Pro USA in January 2012. Edmonston, a member of the parish’s Republican Executive Committee, owns a sewer and trucking business known as Rooster Lips Company Inc.

Others who qualified Wednesday include Eric Weil, of Donaldsonville, for the state Senate District 2 race. Weil, who has no party, is challenging one-term state Sen. Troy Brown, D-Paincourtville. Brown drew his first challenger Tuesday in Chris Delpit, a Democrat from Gonzales.

A third candidate has entered the race to replace state Rep. Eddie Lambert, R-Gonzales, in House District 59. Rusty Messer, a Republican from Prairieville and a lawyer, has joined fellow Republicans Tony Bacala and Pat Bell in the race.

Bell is a former Parish Council chairman from Prairieville, and Bacala is a former chief deputy for Ascension Parish Sheriff Jeff Wiley.

Lambert, who is term-limited in the House, is running for the open state Senate District 18 seat and remained unopposed Wednesday.

In other Parish Council races, Bill Dawson, a Republican from Burnside, qualified to replace three-term Councilman Kent Schexnaydre, who recently announced he would not seek another term in Council District 2.

Incumbents Daniel “Doc” Satterlee, Teri Casso and Benny Johnson also qualified Wednesday.

Only Casso, who represents the Dutchtown area in council District 8, had a challenger as of Wednesday afternoon, Sean Dardeau. He qualified Tuesday.

Several Livingston Parish Council races also drew new contenders, with two becoming three-person contests Wednesday. That makes four such races thus far for the nine-member board.

Shane Mack, a Republican and brother of state Rep. Sherman Mack, and Bryant Morgan, a Democrat, signed up to challenge Democratic incumbent Delos Blackwell, who also qualified Wednesday for the District 9 seat. All three men are from Albany.

Two more candidates joined the District 6 race: Carter Lambert, of Port Vincent, and Earl Richard Price, of Denham Springs. They will vie against Jeff Averett, of French Settlement, who qualified Tuesday for the seat being vacated by Councilwoman Sonya Collins. All three men are Republicans.

As expected, former Denham Springs City Attorney Paeton Burkett signed up for the District 3 council race. Burkett, a Democrat, will face Maurice “Scooter” Keen, a Republican, in seeking the seat being vacated by Councilwoman Cindy Wale Franz. Keen qualified Tuesday.

District 1 Councilman Chance Parent, of Denham Springs, qualified Wednesday to seek a second term. Parent, who reversed course after announcing several months ago that he would not seek re-election, faces a challenge from Jeff Ard, of Walker, who threw his hat in the ring Tuesday. Both men are Republicans.

The only announced council candidate who had not qualified by the close of business Wednesday was District 7 Councilman Ricky Goff, who has openly toyed with the possibility of challenging Layton Ricks for the parish presidency. Ricks has drawn no challengers as of Wednesday.

State Sen. Dale Erdey, R-Livingston, will face opposition for the District 13 seat from Derek Babcock, a Republican from Denham Springs and vice chairman of the Louisiana Family Forum, who qualified Wednesday.

In West Baton Rouge Parish, Councilwoman Naomi Fair, a Democrat, filed qualifying papers Wednesday to retain her District 3 seat on the council. Fair, so far, faces Republican Clayton A. Hebert, who qualified Tuesday.

Councilman Edward G. “Bob” Robertson, District 9, also qualified for October’s fall elections Wednesday. Robertson, a Democrat, currently faces Elliot Dogan Jr.

In Iberville Parish, Joshua “Josh” Scott qualified Wednesday for the District 1 seat on the Parish Council. Scott will face incumbent Warren “T-Nochie” Taylor. Both men are Democrats.

Ronald “Rono” Arnaud and Morticia “Poonie” Pierce, both Democrats, filed qualifying papers for the council’s District 6 race as well. Both will face fellow newcomer Courtney P. Lewis, also a Democrat, who qualified Tuesday.

And in Pointe Coupee Parish, David L. Feduccia qualified Wednesday to represent District 1 on the parish’s Police Jury. Feduccia currently faces fellow Democrats Tomeka Shantell Walker Hoffman and Gordon M. Taylor.

Incumbents John “Sassy” Pourciau and Kyle A. Olinde filed qualifying papers for the jury’s races in District 2 and 5, respectively.

Kevin S. Bridgewater, a Democrat, and Demetria “Big Burks” Burks Sr. joined the race for the District 3 seat on the Police Jury.

Rounding out Pointe Coupee’s batch of qualifiers for Police Jury seats on Wednesday are Gloria Marie Harris for District 8, Stephen Smith for District 9 and Charles “Gumball” Watkins for District 12.

Laura Maggi, David Mitchell, Terry Jones and Heidi Kinchen contributed to this report.