Louisiana House committee advances 31 tax bills without debate; here are next steps _lowres

Advocate staff photo by BILL FEIG -- In a packed House Ways and Means Committee, Rep. Julie Stokes, R-Kenner, right, presents her HB75, HB76 and HB80. Without dissent, the House Ways and Means Committee forwarded some two dozen tax bills to the full House in a rapid-fire series of votes Tuesday. The measures approved would raise taxes on sales, cigarettes, alcohol and telephones and would eliminate corporate and individual income tax breaks. Lawmakers approved each bill without any member speaking either in favor or against the measure Ð after having heard testimony on the measures last week.

The Louisiana House, aiming to close a $900 million budget gap, voted Thursday to temporarily raise the state's sales tax.

House Bill 62, sponsored by state Rep. Katrina Jackson, D-Monroe, agreed the sales tax would be in place for only 18 months starting April 1.

The bill increases the state sales tax by 1 cent and passed by a 76-28 vote.

Here's a list of votes for and against the measure...

Voting FOR

Speaker Taylor Barras, R-New Iberia

Mark Abraham,R- Lake Charles

Bryan Adams, R-Gretna

John ‘Andy’ Anders, D-Vidalia

James Armes, D-Leesville

Larry Bagley, R-Stonewall

John Bagneris, D- New Orleans

John Berthelot, R-Gonzales

Robert Billiot, D-Westwego

Stuart Bishop, R-Lafayette

Joseph Bouie, D-New Orleans

Chris Broadwater, R-Hammond

Chad Brown, D-Plaquemine

Terry Brown, I-Colfax

Thomas Carmody, R-Shreveport

Barbara Carpenter, D-Baton Rouge

Gary Carter,D- New Orleans

Robby Carter, D-Amite

Stephen Carter, R-Baton Rouge

Charles ‘Bubba’ Chaney, R-Rayville

Jean-Paul Coussan,R-Lafayette

Kenny Cox, D-Natchitoches

Michael Danahay, D-Sulphur

Paula Davis, R- Baton Rouge

Stephen Dwight, R-Lake Charles

Franklin Foil, R-Baton Rouge

A.B. Franklin, D-Lake Charles

Randal Gaines, D-LaPlace

Jerry ‘Truck’ Gisclair, D-Larose

Cedric Glover, D-Shreveport

Jeff Hall, D-Baton Rouge

Jimmy Harris, D-New Orleans

Lance Harris, R-Alexandria

Kenny Havard, R-Jackson

Bob Hensgens, R-Abbeville

Stephanie Hilferty, R-Metairie

Dorothy Hill, D-Dry Creek

Frank Hoffmann, R-West Monroe

Paul Hollis, R-Covington

Marcus Hunter, D-Monroe

Mike Huval, R-Breaux Bridge

Katrina Jackson, D-Monroe

Edward ‘Ted’ James, D-Baton Rouge

Patrick Jefferson, D-Homer

Sam Jenkins, D-Shreveport

Robert Johnson, D-Marksville

Sam Jones, D-Franklin

Nancy Landry, R-Lafayette

Terry Landry, D-New Iberia

Harvy LeBas, D-Ville Platte

Walter Leger, D-New Orleans

Chris Leopold, R-Belle Chasse

Rodney Lyons, D-Harvey

Tanner Magee, R-Houma

Denise Marcelle, D-Baton Rouge

Jack McFarland, R-Jonesboro

Dustin Miller, D-Opelousas

Gregory Miller, R-Norco

Jack Montoucet, D-Crowley

Helena Moreno, D-New Orleans

Barbara Norton, D-Shreveport

Vincent Pierre, D-Lafayette

J. Rogers Pope, R-Denham Springs

Ed Price, D-Gonzales

Steve Pugh,R-Ponchatoula

Gene Reynolds, D-Minden

Clay Schexnayder, R-Gonalzes

John Schroder, R-Covington

Alan Seabaugh, R-Shreveport

Rob Shadoin, R-Ruston

Patricia Smith, D-Baton Rouge

Julie Stokes, R-Kenner

Major Thibaut, D-New Roads

Malinda White, D-Bogalusa

Tom Willmott, R-Kenner

Jerome Zeringue, R-Houma


Neil Abramson, D-New Orleans

Beryl Amedee, R-Houma

Tony Bacala, R-Prairieville

Patrick Connick, R-Marrero

Greg Cromer, R-Slidell

Phillip DeVillier, R-Eunice

Rick Edmonds, R-Baton Rouge

Julie Emerson, R-Carencro

Reid Falconer, R-Mandeville

Raymond Garofalo, R- Chalmette

John Guinn, R-Jennings

Lowell “Chris” Hazel, R-Pineville

Cameron Henry, R-Metairie

Valarie Hodges, R-Denham Springs

Dodie Horton, R-Haughton

Frank Howard, R-Many

Barry Ivey, R-Baton Rouge

Mike Johnson, R-Bossier City

Joseph Lopinto, R-Metairie

Sherman Mack, R-Albany

Blake Miguez, R-Erath

John “Jay” Morris, R-Monroe

James “Jim” Morris, R-Oil City

J. Kevin Pearson, R-Slidell

Steve Pylant, R-Winnsboro

Jerome Richard, I-Thibodaux

Scott Simon, R-Abita Springs

Kirk Talbot, R- River Ridge

Editor's Note: This story was updated on Feb. 26, 2016, to correctly identify Reps. Stuart Bishop, R-Lafayette, and Larry Bagley, R-Stonewall.