There’s a four-month backlog to get a concealed carry permit in Louisiana, but if the governor approves a bill that has been sent to his desk, domestic violence victims may only have to wait three days.
The state Senate voted 31-2 Monday to give final passage to House Bill 1155 from Rep. Valarie Hodges, R-Denham Springs, to create expedited, temporary concealed carry permits. The House unanimously supported the measure.
If signed by the governor, the bill will create the 45-day permit for victims who have a permanent protective order issued by a judge. The bill would require those seeking the permit to pay a $25 fee, but they could bypass a mandatory concealed permit training class.
Victims could have temporary permits transitioned to standard permits after obtaining the proper class certification.
Supporters said the law will give people the option to protect themselves, and to do so legally.
Temporary permits won’t circumvent background checks or the judicial process, said Maj. Doug Cain with the Louisiana State Police.
“None of the security measures are waived,” Cain said. “This just simply moves (domestic violence victims) to the front of the line.”
Cain said state police have a goal to return temporary permits in a 72-hour period. He doesn’t foresee the law leading to any large influx of temporary permit requests that could further delay the system or require additional state police employees to run the security checks.
“It should be manageable. I don’t think, in the big scheme of things, it’s a large enough number to see any real change,” he said.