Littering could soon be a much more costly offense in Louisiana.
The state Legislature is advancing a bill that would double fines people must pay when they are ticketed for throwing their trash on the ground.
House Bill 33 has won overwhelming support in both the House and Senate, but was tweaked on Wednesday, requiring another step before its final passage.
Under the proposal, litter fines would jump from $75 for a first offense of simple littering to $150. A second offense could cost up to $1,500.
Simple littering is the disposal of litter on public or private property or on waters of the state.
Fines for “gross littering,” or the intentional disposal of large items, would double to $1,000 to $2,000 for a first offense.
The money from the proposed increase would go the retirement system of the law enforcement agency issuing the litter citation. The amounts from the current fine level will continue to be split between law enforcement agencies and the Keep Louisiana Beautiful Fund.